Some of Ireland’s top prospects began to emerge at the National Stadium almost 40 years ago.

Twelve Irish Junior champions were crowned at the home of Irish boxing in 1982.

All hands were raised in victory on points in a close night of boxing at the South Circular Road venue.

The finals were decided across twelve weight classes at IABA headquarters.


Irish Junior National Championships

National Stadium, Dublin

January 23, 1982


48kg Alex O’Neill beat P Doyle PTS
51kg F McAteer beat W Harris PTS
54kg Paul Fitzgerald beat M Donaghy PTS
57kg Seamus McGuiness beat Noel Hickey PTS
60kg Patsy Ormond beat Billy McClean PTS
63,5kg Billy Walsh beat K Ward PTS
67kg J Colvin beat Noel Reid PTS
71kg Samuel Storey beat Frank McCourt PTS
75kg John Phoenix beat B Murphy PTS
81kg PJ Lawlor beat L Allen PTS
91kg Noel Guiry beat E Gilligan PTS
+91kg D Hayes beat S Davidson PTS