Please scroll down for Day 1 results and (Saturday’s ) corresponding draws at the National U/18 Championships.

Eric Byrne, David Nevin and Josh Cummins won their preliminary round bouts to complete the line up for the remaining quarter-finals tomorrow.

European medallist Jude Gallagher also won, while Brandon McCarthy moved into the last eight at the expense of Eoghan Quinn after a cracking lightweight contest.

The Crumlin BC celebrated a double on opening night, courtesy of Karl Sheridan and Killian Geraghty, Sheridan edging Paddy McShane on a 3-2 split in the opening quarter-final.

Gallagher, Sheridan and Ryan Dunne, Daniel Kheirredine and Jack McMahon, who also won tonight, are back between the ropes tomorrow.

The tournament resumes in the morning at 11am.18 bouts will be decided.

Saturday’s weigh-ins – 8am to 9am at the National Stadium.

The IABA are using the U/18s as part of their selection process for the European Youth Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria in early September.


National Men’s and Women’s U/18 Championships National Stadium Dublin

July 12

Prelims (6.30pm)

64kg Eric Byrne (Sacred Heart Dublin) beat Colin Hallinan (Ballina) 5-0
69kg David Nevin (Holy Family L) beat Brendan Corcoran (Carrickmore) 5-0
69kg Josh Cummins (Trinity Sports) beat Mark Kells (Erne) 5-0


49kg Karl Sheridan (Crumlin) beat Paddy McShane (Letterkenny) 3-2
49kg Ryan Dunne (Jobstown) beat Eric Walsh (Marble City) 5-0
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Nathan Horrigan (Hyland BA) 5-0
52kg Daniel Kheirredine (Bracken) beat Dane Finn (St Nicholas) 5-0
52kg Jake McMahon (Liberty) beat Padraig Downey (St John Bosco A) 4-1
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat Eoghan Quinn (St Johns U) 5-0
60kg Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) beat Dean Buckley (St Carthages) 5-0
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald Antrim) beat Joshua Adams (All Saints U) 5-0
75kg Lewis Browne (Gilford) beat Laurence Ward (Monivea) 3-2
75kg Jack Kelly (St Carthages) beat Martin Faleye (Sacred Heart D) 4-1
91kg Edward McDonagh (Galway) V Luke Walsh (Raging Bull) 5-0
91kg James Redmond (Ballybrack) beat Malachy Duffy (Virginia) 5-0
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D) beat Jason Ward (Monivea) 4-1

July 13

Q/Finals (11am)

51kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim BC) V Mia Robbins (Gorey)
60kg Chantelle Richie (Gilford) V Jamie Guy (Glin)
60kg Keisha Attewell (Tobar Pheadair) V Tiffany O’Reilly (Curragh)
60kg Niamh McNamara (Castlerea) V Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan)
64kg Leanne Murphy (Togher) V Eve Woods (Corinthians)
64kg Cameron Suttle (Erne) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
64kg Jamie Duffy (East Meath) V James Conroy (Tobar Pheadair)
64kg Nathan McCaul (St Josephs Derry) V Matthew Tyndall (Docklands)
64kg Peter Vrinceanu (Crumlin) V Eric Byrne (Sacred Heart Dublin)
69kg Declan McDonagh (Claremorris) V Tiarnan Mayse (Two Castles)
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin) V Ciaran White (Monivea)
69kg Rokas Baltrukonis (Clane) V Ali Ahmed (Ormeau Road)
69kg David Nevin (Holy Family L) V Josh Cummins (Trinity Sports)


49kg Craig Bigger (Cookstown) V Aaron Kirwan Doyle (Ballagh)
49kg Karl Sheridan (Crumlin) V Ryan Dunne (Jobstown)
52kg Craig Stafford (Sacred Heart D) V Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
52kg Daniel Kheirredine (Bracken) V Jake McMahon (Liberty)
54kg Megan Coleman (Baldoyle) V Megan Lehane (Rylane)

Friday, July 19

S/Finals (6.30pm)

56kg Barry O’Connor (Ballyduff) V Jamie Griffin (Riverstown)
60kg Eimear McKee (All Saints U) V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg David Nevin (Mullingar Elite) V Cian Reddy (Portlaoise)
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Kaci Rock (Four Kings)
64kg Linda Desmond (Rylane) V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg David McDonagh (Mullingar Elite) V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Jack Murphy ( —-) V Jason Myers (Titans)
91kg Francie O’Donnell (Ballymun) V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Christian Halligan (Saviours Crystal)V Owney McDonagh (St Annes)


57kg Cathrine Blaney (Navan) V Lauren Dempsey (Ryston)

Saturday, July 20

Finals (4pm)

48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) W/O
49kg Winner V Winner
51kg Fiona O’Keeffe (Rathkeale) V Winner
52kg Winner V Winner
54kg Niamh Fay (Swords) V Winner
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott) V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Mary Enright (Setanta) V Leah Gallen (Raphoe)
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Bethany Doocey (Castlebar) W/O
81kg Cathal Crowley (Spartans M) V Winner
91kg Francie O’Donnell (Ballymun) V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Josh Philips (Ardoyne Holy Cross) V Winner