Brandon McCarthy

Ireland’s squad for the European Men’s and Women’s Youth Championships in Bulgaria will have their final training camp in Waterford before departing for Sofia on Tuesday week.

Irish coach Billy McClean said the team will complete camp in Dungarvan from August 27 to 31.

The 19-strong squad have been training at the National Stadium for the last four weekends.

Four members of the 2019 panel – Dainna Moorehouse, Evelyn Igharo, Jude Gallagher and Dean Clancy – finished in podium positions at the 2018 European Youths in Roseto delgi Abruzzi, Italy.

Moorehouse claimed gold, Igharo and Clancy sliver and Gallagher bronze in Italy.

St Michael’s Athy BC lightweight Brandon McCarthy, a former European silver medallist, can’t wait for the action to start in Sofia.

“I’m excited now to head to my 6th European Championships in September. Just a big thanks to my coaches Dominic O’Rourke and my father Mick McCarthy and all my family,” said McCarthy who won European silver in 2015 but who was agonisingly edged out on split decisions in three Continental quarter-finals.

“This year I’m going for gold,” he added.

The Irish panel for Sofia secured National U/18 titles at the National Stadium earlier this summer.

Boxing begins on September 4 in Sofia.


2019 European Men’s and Women’s Championships Sofia, Bulgaria (September 2/11)


49kg Ryan Dunne (Jobstown)
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin)
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald, Antrim)
81kg Jason Myers (Titans)
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D)
91+kg Owen McDonagh (St Annes)


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
51kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim)
54kg Niamh Fay (Swords)
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ryston)
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
69kg Leah Gallen (Raphoe)
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea)


IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team Managers: Patrick Osborne & Anna Moore
Coaches: William McClean, Aoife Hennigan,Anita Just,Brian Barry,Liam Cunningham