“El equipo de Irlanda regresó a casa del Campeonato Europeo de Elite Femenino en Madrid esta tarde a través del aeropuerto de Dublín!”

Team Ireland returned home from the European Women’s Elite Championships in Madrid this afternoon via Dublin Airport.

Roscommon’s Aoife O’Rourke and Dundalk’s Amy Broadhurst won gold and bronze at the tournament to improve Ireland’s all-time haul to 12 medals – 7 gold and 5 bronze – since 2001.

O’Rourke came from behind to beat Poland’s former Olympic Youth and World Youth champion Elziebta Wojcik to secure the 75kg title on Saturday night.

“I’m absolutely over the moon. It was a tough fight and I’m thrilled to have won gold. It’s incredible, I don’t think it has sunk in yet,” said the Castlerea BC stand out after becoming the only Irish female boxer besides current unified pro champion Katie Taylor to claim gold at this level.

Family, clubs, clubs coaches were at the airport this afternoon to welcome the team home.


IABA CEO Fergal Carruth, speaking from the airport, remarked that the team had performed magnificently against Europe’s finest, adding that Irish boxing will take a lot of confidence from performances in Madrid going into the Olympic qualifiers.

Meantime, Broadhurst, Ceire Smith and Christina Desmond were only beaten by the eventual gold medallist in their weights in Madrid.

Irish team manager JP Kinsella and head coach Zaur Antia and Irish coach Damian Kennedy agreed that the bouts involving Broadhurst, Smith and Desmond and the eventual European champions could have gone either way.

Ireland finished in 4th spot in the medals table at the 12th edition of the tournament.

Irish boxing has now medalled at nine consecutive European Women’s Elites since Norway 2005 where Katie Taylor won gold, Ireland’s first medal at this level.



Ireland’s All-Time European Elite Women’s Championships Medallists

2005/06/07/09/11/14: Katie Taylor (Six Gold)
2019: Aoife O’Rourke (Gold)
2014: Clare Grace (Bronze)
2016: Christina Desmond (Bronze)
2018: Kellie Harrington (Bronze)
2018: Michaela Walsh (Bronze)
2019: Amy Broadhurst (Bronze)