Ireland and England have been involved in some tremendous internationals down through the decades.

Both nations renew rivalries on Friday night over nine bouts at the National Stadium in Dublin.

In 1955, two of the men that went on to become legends of the sport in Ireland lined out against an English selection at the same venue.

Fred Tiedt and Freddie Gilroy both won on the night. A year later the Dublin and Belfast duo were part of an Irish boxing team that won four medals, one silver and three bronze, at the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne.

Tiedt (silver), Gilroy (bronze), Tony Byrne (bronze) and John Caldwell (bronze) medalled.

That haul was numerically equaled at the London 2012 Games, with Katie Taylor (gold), John Joe Nevin (silver), Paddy Barnes (bronze) and Michael Conlan (bronze) finishing in podium positions.

Ireland finished in 7th position in the medals table at Melbourne 1956 and Great Britain in second spot. Great Britain topped the medals table at London 2012 and Ireland finished in joint 5th spot with Kazakhstan.

Meanwhile, Friday’s international with England will feature a number of special guests.

Tickets available on the door at €10 per adult and €5 per child. Pre-pay tickets available through IABA.

Contact or (01) 453 3371. Group specials available for 10 or more people.

Larry Morrison is Irish team manager.



Ireland v England November 25th, 1955 National Stadium Dublin


51kg Chris Rafter IRL Frankie Spencer ENG PTS
54kg Freddie Gilroy IRL Don Weller ENG TKO 2
57kg Eddie Duffy IRL Dave Merchant ENG PTS
60kg Steve Coffey IRL Brian Jones ENG PTS
63,5kg Fred Tiedt IRL George Lucas ENG PTS
67kg Harry Perry IRL Terry Hollis ENG PTS
71kg Danny King IRL Johnny Cunningham ENG PTS
75kg Peter Burke IRL Frank Hope ENG PTS
81kg Paddy Lyons IRL John Gibbons ENG PTS
+81kg Dave Rent ENG Tommy Bruce IRL TKO 3

(Results courtesy of Gerry Callan, Irish Daily Star, via StrefaAmateur Boxing.


Ireland v England  National Stadium Dublin December 16th


52kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls)

56kg Stephen McKenna

57kg Moira McElligott (St Michael’s Athy)

60kg Kellie Harrington (Glasnevin)

60kg George Bates (St Marys)

64kg Sean McComb

75kg Connor Wallace

81kg Joe Ward (Moate & AIBA Pro Boxing)

91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown)


52kg Ishmail Khan

56kg Louis Lynn

57kg Raven Chapman

60kg Sarah Dunne

60kg Cory O’Regan

64kg Mason Smith

75kg Lewis Richardson

81kg George Crotty

91kg Chevron Clarke