A new batch of champions were crowned at the National Novice Championships at Dublin’s National Stadium this morning and early afternoon.

Nineteen titles were claimed at the home of Irish boxing.

The Championships were completed over 59 bouts over the last two weekends.

The IABA congratulates all champions, finalists and competitors at the tournament.

Please scroll down for all results.

(Image; Darren O’Connor after winning a first-ever IABA National Club title for NUIG today. Image courtesy of Paddy Gallagher)


2019 National Men’s and Women’s Novice Championships National Stadium

Saturday, September 21



48kg Stephanie Donnelly (Legends U) W/O
50kg Shannon Byrne (Olympic Mullingar) W/O
52kg Bianca O’Donovan (Olympic C) W/O
57kg Dearbhla Snow (Togher) W/O
57kg Kevin Cummins (Mount Tallant) beat Lee Crawford (St Matthews) 5-0
60kg Leah Cassidy (Angels) W/O
60kg Alabi Latleaf (Westwise) beat Andreas Clemenger (Smithfield) 4-1
63kg Christine Waters (Navan) beat Megan Woods (Loughshore) 5-0
64kg Darren O’Connor (NUIG) beat Timothy Burns (Canal) 5-0
66kg Rachel Buchanan (Castlebar) W/O
67kg Scott Long (Muskerry) beat Anthony Coleman (Sparticus) 5-0
70kg Sarah Tyrell (Ballaghaderreen) beat Caoimhe Commins (Ballinacarrow) 3-2
71kg Michael Sullivan (Angels) beat Caolan Dines (Dealgan) 4-1
75kg James Fitzpatrick (St Davids, Naas) beat Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) 4-1
81kg Larry Redmond (Ballybrack) beat Rudolfas Remickas (DCU) 4-0
80+kg Liveta Lazhuskaike (Olympic Mullingar) W/O
85kg Jordan Carney (Drimnagh) beat Anthony Ormond (Donore) 5-0
91kg Michael Rudolf (Crumlin) beat Damien Singerzeon (Bay City) 4-1
91+kg Samuel Ilesanmi (St Marys D) beat  Isreal Akinnroye (DCU) KO1

September 20



64kg Timothy Burns (Canal) beat Anthony Reddy (Drimnagh) RSC2
64kg Darren O’Connor (NUIG) beat Jean Toko (Mulhuddart) 5-0
70kg Sarah Tyrell (Ballaghaderreen) W/O
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Enda Brody (Angels) 5-0
75kg James Fitzpatrick (St Davids Naas) beat Nathan Flynn (CIE) 5-0
81kg Rudolfas Remickas (DCU) beat Andrzej Rutkowski (Corpus Christi) 5-0
81kg Larry Redmond (Ballybrack) beat Alan Molloy (Gorey) 3-1
85kg Anthony Ormond (Donore) beat Leon Lynch (Muskerry 4-1
85kg Jordan Carney (Drimnagh) beat Brian Gillard (Dunboyne) 5-0
91kg Damien Singerzeon (Bay City) W/O
91kg Michael Rudolf (Crumlin) beat Jason Sherlock (Drumsna) 3-2
91+kg Samuel Ilesanmi (St Marys D) V Augustine Eze (Crumlin) 5-0
91+kg Isreal Akinnroye (DCU) W/O

September 14


64kg Anthony Reddy (Drimnagh) W/O)
64kg Timothy Burns (Canal) beat Jamiu Adio (St Marys D) AB3
64kg Jean Toko (Mulhuddart) beat Jim Gargan (UCD) 5-0
64kg Darren O’Connor (NUIG) beat Shane Cunningham (Rush) 4-1
75kg Enda Brody (Angels) W/O
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Lorenzo Mihai (Docklands) 4-1
75kg James Fitzpatrick (St Davids) beat Matthew Johansson (Crumlin) RSC3
75kg Nathan Flynn (CIE) beat James Finney (Mount Tallant) 5-0


57kg Lee Crawford (St Matthews) beat Zennin Wong (UCD) 5-0
60kg Andreas Clemenger (Smithfield) W/O
60kg Alabi Latleaf (Westside) beat John Nolan (Drimnagh) 5-0
71kg Michael Sullivan (Angels) beat Luke Comaskey (Olympic Mullingar) 5-0
71kg Caolan Dines (Dealgan) beat Shane Doherty (Darndale) RSC1

September 13


64kg Darren O’Connor (NUIG) beat Conor Donoghue (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
75kg James Finney (Mount Tallant) beat David Clyne (Maynooth) 5-0
75kg Nathan Flynn (CIE) beat PJ Kelly (Twin Towns) RSC2


60kg Ali Bayo (Westside) beat Christian Clarke (Phibsboro) 5-0
60kg John Nolan (Drimnagh) W/O
71kg Michael Sullivan (Angels) beat Sean McDonnell (Drimnagh) 5-0
71kg Caolan Dines (Dealgan) beat Peter McLoughlin (Rush) 5-0
71kg Shane Doherty (Darndale) beat Evan Browne (Darndale) 4-1
81kg Rudolfas Remickas (DCU) beat Sean Nolan (Darndale) 5-0
81kg Larry Redmond (Ballybrack) beat Jonathan Lodder (Twin Towns) 5-0
81kg Alan Molloy (Gorey) beat Ronan Kelly (Olympic Mullingar) 4-1
91kg Jason Sherlock (Drumsna) Jason English W/O
91kg Michael Rudolf (Crumlin) beat Michael Ryan (Four Kings) 4-1
91+kg Isreal Akinnroye (DCU) beat Sean Kelly (Four Kings) 5-0