Members of Irish squad in Italy today


Daina Moorehouse was crowned European Youth light-fly champion in Italy today after a stunning performance against Kseniia Beschastnova.

The Enniskerry BC pocket rocket, the 2017 European Junior champion, scored a 4-1 split decision over the Russian – 30-27,30-27,30-27, 29-28,28-29 – to claim the gold.

Beschastnova’s jab was effective enough this afternoon, but her single shots were never going to be enough against the maurding Moorehouse who kept stepping inside the longer reach of her opponent to deliver two and three-punch combinations in all three rounds.

Dearbhla Rooney Slovakia’s found the target with big shots to edge two-time European Junior champion Jessica Triebelova 3-2 in the final round of today’s feather final, but the counter-punching Slovak was ahead on all cards going into the final frame.

Rooney, who, along with the Irish corner, was shaking her head after taking standing counts – when she was on the attack – from innocuous punches in the first and in the second before winning the third. Finals scores – 29-27,29-27,29-27,30-27,30-27 to Slovakia

Evelyn Igharo lost to England’s European Junior champion Gemma Richardson in the light-welter final. Igharo, who fought bravely throughout, was beaten on a unanimous decision over three, three minute rounds. Big performance from the Irish champion against a world class opponent. Final scores – 30-27,30-25,30-26,29-28,30-26 to England.

Dean Clancy, the last Irish boxer in action in Italy, was beaten on by England’s Ivan Price. A close three-rounder, Price earned a unanimous decision to take the 52kg  gold against the stylish Sligo flyweight.

Ireland will be taking home one gold, three silver and two bronze from Italy. Irish female cpatian Lauren Kelly and Jude Gallagher.

Team Ireland are due home via Dublin Airport at .35pm tomorrow afternoon (Terminal 2).

Irish amateur boxing is proudly sponsored by Liffey Crane.

European Men’s and Women’s Youth Championships Roseto degli Abruzzi, Italy April 17/26

April 25th

48kg Daina Moorhouse (Ireland) beat Kseniia Beschastnova (Russia) 4-1
52kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) lost to Ivan Price (England) 0-5
57kg Dearbhla Rooney (Ireland) lost to Jessica Triebelova (Slovakia) 0-5
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Ireland) lost to Gemma Richardson (England) 0-5

April 24th

48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) beat Maxi Klotzer (Germany) 4-1
49kg Jude Gallagher (Ireland) lost to Atilla Bernath (Hungary) 0-5
52kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) beat Yurii Tomiuk (Ukraine) 5-0
57kg Dearbhla Rooney (Ireland) beat Valeria Radionova (Russia) 3-2
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Ireland) beat Maria Sedaya (Ukraine) 5-0
75kg Lauren Kelly (Ireland) lost to Elsidata Selaj (Albania) 0-5

April 22nd

48kg Daina Moorhouse (Ireland) beat Marta Lopez (Spain) 5-0
49kg Jude Gallagher (Ireland) beat Seyran Yeghikyan (Armenia) 5-0
56kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) lost to Muhamet Qamili (Albania) 2-3
57kg Dearbhla Rooney (Ireland) beat Nikolina Cacic (Croatia) 4-1
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Ireland) beat Anita Zilic (Croatia) RSC1
75kg Lauren Kelly (Ireland) beat Sena Erdogen (Turkey) 3-0

April 21st

Last 16
51kg Caitlin Fryers (Ireland) lost to Liubov Sharpova (Russia) 1-4
54kg Mary Geraghty (Ireland) lost to Aycan Guldagi (Turkey) 0-5
60kg Aoibhe Ginty (Ireland) lost to Stephanie von Berge (Germany) AB3


52kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) beat Patrick Cappi (Italy) 4-1
81kg Aoibhe Carrabine (Ireland) lost to Sagit Emanur (Turkey) 0-5
81kg Edward Barrett (Ireland) lost to Karol Itauma (England) 0-5

April 20th

Last 16
49kg Jude Gallagher (Ireland) beat Ali Dagly (Ukraine) 5-0
52kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) beat Murat Ugurlu (Turkey) 5-0
56kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) beat Joe Tyres (England) 5-0
64kg Callum Walsh (Ireland) lost to Ilya Popov (Russia) 1-4
69kg Edward Donovan (Ireland) lost to Konstantin Barbosu (Hungary) 1-4

April 19th

Last 16
48kg Daina Moorhouse (Ireland) beat Jvanisova Olena (Ukraine) 5-0
57kg Dearbhla Rooney (Ireland) beat Weronikia Pawlak (Poland) 5-0
81kg Edward Barrett (Ireland) beat Ahmad Abdun Abu (Israel) 4-0Last 32
52kg Dean Clancy (Ireland beat Maksim Pankou (Belarus) 5-0
60kg Alex Higgins (Ireland) lost to Bojan Timotijevic (Serbia) 1-4

April 18th

Last 32
56kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) beat Alexander Tanko (Slovakia) 5-0
64kg Callum Walsh (Ireland) beat Kilp Frank (Germany) 5-0
69kg Edward Donovan (Ireland) beat Michal Jarlinski (Poland) 5-0
75kg Kane Tucker (Ireland) lost to Gabrijel Veocic (Croatia) 2-3

Irish squad

49kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) (Bronze)
52kg Dean Clancy (Ballinacarrow) (Silver)
56kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy)
60kg Alex Higgins (Fr Horgans)
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
69kg Edward Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
75kg Kane Tucker (Holy Family GG) Cpt
81kg Edward Barrett (Olympic)

48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) (Gold)
51kg Caitlyn Fryers (Immaculata)
54kg Mary Geraghty (Baldoyle)
57kg Dearbhla Rooney (Sean McDermott) (Silver)
60kg Aoibhe Ginty (Geesala)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) (Silver)
75kg Lauren Kelly (St Brigids Edenderry) Cpt (Bronze)
81kg Aoibhe Crabine (Geesala)

IABA President Dom O’Rourke
Team Manager: Peter O’Donnell and Fiona Hennigan
Coaches: Billy McClean, Michael Carruth, Michael Mongan,Anita Just
R&J John Casey