Irish squad at Dublin Airport this morning

Team Ireland are en route to Italy this morning ahead of the start of the 2018 European Youth Championships.The tournament begins in Roseto delgi Abruzzi tomorrow.

Approximately 400 athletes representing 40 nations have entered.

Entries: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bosnia Herzegovina, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Spain, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldavia, Norway, Holland, Poland, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Slovenia, Serbia, Switzerland, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine.

The Championships will act as qualifiers for the AIBA World Men’s and Women’s World Youths at a host nation to be confirmed this August and for the Youth Olympics in Buenos Aires, Argentina in October.

World Youth Championships quota allocation in Italy

Men’s – 70 quotas
Women’s – 52 quotas

The other Continental Youths Championships will be decided in Bangkok, Casablanca, Colorado Springs and Samoa this month, May and in early June.

Kane Tucker and Lauren Hogan have been named Irish captains for Roseto degli Abruzzi.

Peter O’Donnell and Fionna Hennigan are the Irish team managers by the banks of the Adriatic sea.

“The honour of being appointed Irish team manager never gets any less. It was a privilege to be selected to manage the Irish team for Italy. I had no hesitation in accepting the role when offered by Dominic O’Rourke, the IABA President,” said O’Donnell, President of the Donegal Board.

The squad arrived at the tournament venue this afternoon.

Irish amateur boxing is proudly sponsored by Liffey Crane


European Men’s and Women’s Youth Championships Roseto degli Abruzzi, Italy April 17/26

Irish squad


49kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
52kg Dean Clancy (Ballinacarrow)
56kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy)
60kg Alex Higgins (Fr Horgans)
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
69kg Edward Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
75kg Kane Tucker (Holy Family GG) Cpt
81kg Edward Barrett (Olympic)


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
51kg Caitlyn Fryers (Immaculata)
54kg Mary Geraghty (Baldoyle)
57kg Dearbhla Rooney (Sean McDermott)
60kg Aoibha Ginty (Geesala)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
75kg Lauren Kelly (St Brigids Edenderry) Cpt

Team Manager: Peter O’Donnell and Fiona Hennigan
Coaches: Billy McClean, Michael Carruth, Michael Mongan,Anita Just
R&J John Casey

(Team picture courtesy of Irish team manager Fiona Hennigan and Irish coach Michael Mongan)