Team Ireland leave for Georgia this afternoon ahead of the opening bell for the 2019 European Schoolboy/girl Championships in Tbilisi.

The Boys and Girls in Green will go into the hat with 29 other nations for Saturday’s draw. Boxing begins Sunday in Tbilisi.

The 32-strong Irish squad finished up training camp at the Clann Naofa BC last Monday and are eager to get the competition underway remarked IABA President Dominic O’Rourke.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey and Ukraine will compete at the 17th edition of the Europeans.

Female boxing was introduced to the tournament for the first time last year in Bulgaria.

The Girls in Green had an immediate impact and took home nine medals – 3 of which were gold.

Katie O’Keeffe, who is included on the Georgia squad, claimed bronze in 2018.

The boys claimed six medals last time out.The combined tally in Bulgaria pushed Ireland over the ton and improved the all-time haul to 101 medals since the inaugural tournament in Rome in 2003.

(Images of Irish squad)

2019 European Schoolboy/girls Championships Schedule 

(Local time applies. Georgia is three hours ahead of Ireland)

August 1-2 – Arrival of the delegations
August 2 – Sport Entries Check
August 3, 15:00 – Technical Meeting
August 3, 16:30 – Official Draw
August 4, 15:00, 18:00 – Day1 preliminaries
August 4, 17:00 – Opening Ceremony
August 5, 14:00, 17:00 – Day2 preliminaries
August 6, 14:00, 17:00 – Day3 preliminaries
August 7, 14:00, 17:00 – Day4 preliminaries
August 8 – Rest day
August 9, 14:00, 17:00 – Day5 semi-finals
August 10, 14:00 – Day6 finals
August 11, 14:00 – Day7 finals
August 12 – Departure of the delegations
2019 European Schoolboy/girl Championships Tbilisi, Georgia (August 2/12)

Irish squad


38.5kg Kai Ducque Griffin (Drimnagh)
40kg Roy Farrelly Colgan (Avona) Captain
41.5kg Sean Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
43kg Kyle Thomas Smith (Holy Trinity)
44.5kg Malo Kemel Fekkar Davis (Monkstown Dublin)
46kg Blaine Fitzgerald (Corinthians)
48kg Padraig Flynn Stapleton (Monkstown Dublin)
50kg James O’Reilly Thornhill (Togher)
52kg Lee McEvoy (Avona)
54kg Cole Byrne (Enniskerry)
56kg Laurence Connors (St Mary’s Dublin)
59kg Patrick Stokes (St Johns Derry)
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Urlingford)
68kg Thomas Ward (Carrickmore) Vice Captain
72kg Ryan Collins Murphy (Neilstown)
76kg Caolan Devlin (Mark Heagney)
80kg Bernard Cawley (St Davids Naas)
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)
90-105kg Danny O’Brien (Shadows)


34-36kg Carlagh Mullarney (Ballyhaunis)
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (St Anthony’s Pats)
40kg Shakira McCrudden (Riverside)
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Kanturk)
44kg Esther Lambe (Setanta)
46kg Carleigh Irving (Illies Golden Gloves)
48kg Nora Jackman (Paulstown)
51kg Georgia Dunne McGovern (Drimnagh) Captain
54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic Mullingar)
57kg Alicia King (Ratoath Golden Gloves)
60kg Gabrielle Mongan (Whitechurch)
64kg Ava Rose Henry Lyndon (Glin) Vice Captain
70kg Breanna Ryan Tobin (Spartan)


IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke (St Michaels Athy)

Team Managers: Stephen Connolly (Curragh) & Jennifer O’Sullivan (Sliabh Luachra)

Coaches: Eve Carr (St Michaels Athy),Patrick Gallagher (Maynooth), James O’Neill (Clann Naofa),Martin Donovan (O.L.O.L.),Killian Walsh (Dungarvan), Paul Archbold (St Davids Naas)

Referee/Judge: Martin O’Neill (St Saviours OBA)