Two Irish Boxing Representatives Appointed To EUBC Bodies.

Two members of the Irish Boxing family have been selected as members of prestigious European Union Boxing Confederation committees.

The installations were announced at an online meeting of the EUBC’s Board of Directors.

Outgoing National Registrar, Stephen Connolly, has been appointed to the EUBC’s Referee and Judges Committee. This committee has been reduced in size from 16 members to 6. The committee on which Mr. Connolly joins representatives from Italy, Serbia, Albania, Germany and Bulgaria on the body.

Its terms of reference include dealing with matters related to referees and judges; ensuring that the EUBC competitions are organised in compliance with the AIBA Referee and Judge Regulations; ensuring that the AIBA Technical Rules related to referees and judges’ matters – including but not limited to bout review, protest against a referee – are implemented in the EUBC competitions; identifying and recommending referees and judges for the EUBC competitions; ensuring that the selected referees and judges for the EUBC competitions abide to the AIBA Code of Conduct; and arranging training courses, and provide educational material to referees and judges.

The second person from Irish Boxing appointed to an EUBC is Dr. Roberto Scully, who is now a member of the EUBC Medical & Anti-Doping Committee, alongside representatives from Azerbaijan, Austria, Serbia, Italy, Bulgaria, Germany, Poland and Russia.

This committee’s terms of reference include: dealing with medical issues related to boxing, in particular the health and safety of boxers; providing expertise, knowledge and advice with respect to the care and follow-up treatment of boxers in different environments, including at the ringside and out-of competition, and with respect to fitness to box, performance and improvement issues; ensuring that a sufficient number of ringside doctors are available for the EUBC competitions; and arranging training courses, and provide educational materials to ringside doctors.

The terms of office for both committees are four years. Any member, upon completion of his or her term of office, may be re-appointed by the EUBC’s Board, up to two consecutive terms.