No Irish boxers are in action on Day 3 of the World Elites Championships in Ekaterinburg, Russia tomorrow.

However, Ireland’s No. 6 seed Kurt Walker will be keeping an eye on the result of the Samuel Kistohurry (France) versus David Avila (Columbia) bout as he’ll meet the winner in the last 32 on Sunday.

So far, Ireland has won two out of three bouts with Laois middle Michael Nevin and Dublin heavy Kiril Afanasev having their hands raised in victory on Monday and today.

Antrim light heavy Kane Tucker bowed out to Kyrgyzstan’s Rio 2016 Olympian and Asian Games’ bronze medallist Erkin Adylbek this afternoon, while Regan Buckley and Wayne Kelly are between the ropes on Thursday.

Meantime, as per AIBA rule change earlier this year, boxers can now wear their national colours in the ring.

The last time boxers wore national colours in competition was at the 1988 Olympics in Seoul.

The scoring system was changed after those Games because of issues, to put it diplomatically, with decisions and boxers wore red and blue uniforms for the first time at a major tournament at the 1989 World Men’s Elites in Moscow where Barcelona 1992 Olympic champion Michael Carruth claimed bronze.


2019 World Elite Men’s Championships Ekaterinburg, Russia

September 12

Last 64

52kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) v Aldoms Suquor (Indonesia)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) v Matthew Alexander (Trinidad & Tobago)

September 13

Last 64

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) v Miroslav Kapuler (Israel)

September 14

Last 32

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) v Vytautas Balsys (Lithuania)

September 15

Last 32

57kg Kurt Walker v Samuel Kistohurry (France) or David Avila (Columbia)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) v Radoslav Panaleev (Bulgaria)


September 10

Last 64

81kg Kane Tucker (Ireland) lost to Erkin Adylbek (Kyrgyzstan) 0-5
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) beat Austin Aokuso (Australia) 5-0

September 9

Last 64

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Andre1 Vreme (Moldova) 5-0

Irish squad

52kg: Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
57kg: Kurt Walker (Canal)
63kg: Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
69kg: Aidan Walsh (Monkstown)
75kg: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)
81kg: Kane Tucker (Emerald)
91kg: Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield)

High-Performnce Director: Bernard Dunne

Head coach: Zaur Antia

Coaches: John Conlan and Eoin Pluck