IABA statement on IOC Executive Board recommendation on IBA.

The Irish Athletic Boxing Association notes today’s decision recommendation from the IOC Executive Board to IOC Session to withdraw recognition of the International Boxing Association.

This arises from the IBA’s failure to implement a range of reforms commissioned by the International Olympic Committee in 2019, following the suspension of the boxing world governing body’s recognition. read more

Reminder: Affiliation fees for the 2023/2024 season are due by June 9th.

Affiliation for the 2023/2024 season is now open.  Clubs are reminded that they must be affiliated in order to vote in national elections (Rule 6.11). Affiliation fees are due by June 9th.


The total cost of affiliation is €850 per club; however, IABA is in a position to co-fund the fees of every club which is re-affiliating this season. The co-funding amount, through Sport Ireland Covid Resilience Funding, is 42% of the total. This IABA co-funding reduces the cost for each club to €495. read more

Quarter Finals programme: 2023 National Junior Cadet Championships

2023 National Junior Cadet Championship quarter finals will take place on Friday, June 9th. The programme is as follows –

Quarter Finals programme; Friday June 9th at 7pm

  1. 42kg   Eamon Kaye (St Michaels Athy) V  Daniel Nevin (Kilcullen)
  2. 42kg   James McDonagh (Cherry Orchard)  V Paddy Casey (Southside)
  3. 42kg   Harry Phyres (Kilmyshall)  V Daire McGuinness (St Monicas)
  4. 42kg   Comghnaill Guerrine (Sacred Heart D) V Darren Joyce (Elite Mullingar)
  5. 48kg   Paige Knickles (Banbridge) V Vanessa Doyle (Templemore)
  6. 48kg   Molly Lafferty (Twin Towns)  V    Lucy Prentice (Phoenix)
  7. 48kg   Layla Kelly (Baldoyle) V   Aoife Lennon (Dealgan)
  8. 50kg   Anthony Lawrence (Ballybough)  V Phoenix Kenny (Baldoyle)
  9. 50kg   Cian Carmody (Treaty)  V Jason Donoghue (Olympic Mullingar)
  10. 50kg   Francis Regan (Immaculata ) V Danny McManus (St Patricks U)
  11. 50kg   Blake Wolohan (Ballymun) V Conor Kelleher (Donore)
  12. 51kg   Heidi Redmond (Crumlin) V  Layla Roche (Donore)
  13. 51kg   Claire Crowley (St Marthas) V  Ruth Dossen (Olympic C)
  14. 52kg   Daithi Kelly (Drimnagh) V Carson McCarthy (Rush)
  15. 52kg   Martin O’Donnell (Charleville) V Leland Collins (Holy Trinity)                  
  16. 52kg   Kieran Murphy (Kanturk) V Zeus Gaughan (Baldolye)
  17. 52kg   Kai Dynes (Immaculata A) V Patrick Nevin (Elite Mullingar)
  18. 54kg   Kayleigh Ledwidge (St Pappins) V Evie Crichton (Olympic Mullingar)
  19. 54kg   Darren O’Toole (Enniskerry) V Pat O’Donnell (Ballymun)
  20. 54kg   Patrick Ward (Riverside)  V Jude McLaughlin (Antrim)
  21. 54kg   Conor Taylor (Loughglynn)   V  Martin Collins (Baldoyle)
  22. 63kg   Cian Ryan (St Brigids Kildare) V  Khalen Renai (Cashen Vale)
  23. 63kg   Darragh Ryan (Drimnagh)  V   Rhys Taylor (Dunboyne)
  24. 66kg   Hugh Lee Nevin (Elite Mullingar) V Peter McGee (St Conleths)

Provisional semi finals programme, June 10th


Friday, June 9th: 8am-9am and 12pm to 1pm

Saturday, June 10: 8am-9am

Friday, June 16th: 8am-9am and 12pm to 1pm read more

Day Two results: 2023 National Senior Cadet Championships.

The second day of boxing in the 2023 National Junior Cadet Championships has taken place:

Programme, June 3rd

  1. 31kg   Dinny O’Neill (St Francis) beat Christy Nevin (Crumlin), 5-0
  2. 31kg   Brooklyn Quilligan (Cashen Vale) beat Dean O’Toole (Neilstown)
  3. 31kg   Zach Kenny (Golden Gloves) W/O
  4. 33kg   Lee Clarke (Ardee)  W/O
  5. 33kg   Pat Stokes (Olympic Mullingar) beat  Alex Harris (Ballybough), 5-0
  6. 35kg   Taylor Parke (Raphoe)  beat   Aidan Moore (Dealgan), 5-0
  7. 35kg   Harry Reddington (Cherry Orchard), W/O
  8. 35kg   Donnacha Beagan (Sean Dorans)  W/O
  9. 35kg   Emmet Sheilds (Glasnevin) beat TJ Maughan (Dublin Docklands), 3-2
  10. 37kg   Lee Largey Snodden (Immaculata A)  W/O
  11. 37kg   Sean Kelly (Kilmyshall)  beat Aaron Kaye (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
  12. 37kg   Martin Nevin (Drimnagh) beat Marty Reilly (Edenmore), 5-0
  13. 40kg   Patrick J Mcdonagh (Ballyhaunis), W/O
  14. 40kg   Ola Agbabiaka (Dealgan), W/O
  15. 40kg   Rylee Finn (St Nicholas) beat  Jimmy Collins (Treaty), 3-2
  16. 40kg   Willie Stokes (Ballina), W/O          
  17. 42kg   Eamon Kaye (St Michaels Athy) beat TJ Peake (Ballyhaunis), 4-1
  18. 42kg   Daniel Nevin (Kilcullen) beat Christopher Nevin (Elite Mullingar), 5-0
  19. 42kg   James McDonagh (Cherry Orchard) beat James Murray (Glen), 5-0
  20. 42kg   Paddy Casey (Southside) beat Christopher O’Driscoll (Golden Gloves M), 5-0
  21. 42kg   Harry Phayres (Kilmyshall), W/O
  22. 42kg   Daire McGuinness (St Monicas) beat Shane Mullaney (Swinford), RSC 2
  23. 42kg   Comghnall Guerrine (Sacred Heart D) beat Dean Collins (Ballina), RSC 3
  24. 42kg   Darren Joyce (Elite Mullingar) beat Paddy Brady (East Meath), 4-1
  25. 44kg   Tadgh Brennan (Baldoyle)  beat Gary McComb (Midland), 5-0
  26. 44kg   Sean O’Halloran (Monivea) beat Rohan Fitzsimmons (St Colmans), 5-0
  27. 44kg   Anthony Stokes (Elite Mullingar) beat Tyler Waldron (Riverside), 4-1
  28. 44kg   David Isac (Eastmeath) V  Kalib Walsh (Wexford CBS)
  29. 46kg   Michael Russell (Rathnew), W/O
  30. 46kg   Nathan Clarke (Monkstown D), W/O
  31. 46kg   John Allen (Arklow) W/O
  32. 46kg   Padraig Walsh (Immaculata A) beat Patrick Lynch (St Davids), 5-0
  33. 48kg   David Nevin (Monkstown D), W/O
  34. 48kg   Conan McSorley (Two Castles) beat Lucas McIvor (Oakleaf), 4-1
  35. 48kg   Lorcan Holohan (Portlaoise) beat Michael Ward (Claremorris), 5-0
  36. 48kg   Callum McAlinden (Banbridge) beat Owen Lawrence (Ballybough), 5-0

Provisional programme, June 9th


Provisional programme, June 10th


Weigh-in arrangements

Friday, June 9th: 8am-9am and 12pm to 1pm

Saturday, June 10: 8am-9am

Friday, June 16th: 8am-9am and 12pm to 1pm read more