All quarter-finals will be decided on Day 2 of the National Senior Championships at Dublin’s National Stadium on Friday evening.

Boxing begins at 6.30pm.

Friday’s weigh-ins will be held between 8am and 9am and 12pm and 1pm at the National Stadium.

Cork’s Callum Walsh is aiming for his 7th Irish title and was happy to come through his first bout without headgear on his Senior debut in last Saturday’s Leeside derby with Ryan McCarthy of the Togher BC.

“I thought my performance was good. It’s nice to have the first fight over with especially as it was my first fight without headgear,” said the Riverstown BC light-welter.

The 2017 European Junior champion meets Emerald BC stand out Caoimhin Ferguson for a place in the last four this weekend.

“I’ll just take every fight as it comes now and in three weeks hopefully be a senior champion.”

Michael O’Connell and Jack Higgins get proceedings underway on Friday evening, while Walsh’s Riverstown BC team-mate Sean Butler is in against Antoine Manin of the Celtic Eagles BC.

The Crumlin BC has the highest representation in the weekend’s quarter-finals with Jack Higgins, Senan Dwyer, John Joe Nevin, Michel Rudolf and Johnny Sheridan between the ropes at the home of Irish boxing.

The tournament will be completed over 87 bouts.

(One walkover in 75kg class announced Thursday, October 24)


National Men’s and Women’s Senior Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday, October 25

Q/Finals (6.30pm)

64kg Michael O’Donnell (Celtic Eagles) V Jack Higgins (Crumlin)
64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) V Derek Murray (Muskerry)
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
64kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) V Gavin Bradshaw (Drimnagh)
69kg Senan Dwyer (Crumlin) V Martin Sammon (Olympic G)
69kg Matthew McDonagh (Geesala) W/O
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) V Conor Reneghan (Keady)
69kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) V Antoine Manin (Celtic Eagles)
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) W/O
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) V Shane O’Brien (St Francis)
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) V Martin Sweeney (St Catherines)
75kg Oran Shields (Illies GG) V Rokas Balrukoni (Clane)
81kg Thomas Myers (Sligo City) V Adam Mooney (St Marys Daingean)
81kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) V Philip Hickey (Paulstown)
81kg Daniel Houlihan (Kilcullen) V Conor Tighe (Ballinacarrow)
91kg Brian Mullen (St Annes) V Martin Mongans (Rathkeale)
91kg Michel Rudolf (Crumlin) W/O
91kg Johnny Sheridan (Crumlin) V Marcin Skalski (Athlone)
91kg Shane Cunningham (Fr Horgans) V Thomas Maughan (Cavan)


Friday, November 1

S/Finals (6.30pm)

48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
52kg Jason Smith (Fr Flanagans) V Nathan Horrigan (Hyland Academy)
52kg Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D) V John Cowman (St Paul’s W)
57kg Kelsey Leonard (Curragh) V Dearbhla Rooney (Sean McDermott)
57kg Jennifer Lehan (DCU) V Kellie McLoughlin (Drimnagh)
56kg Terry Donohue (St Michaels) V Jamie Griffin (Riverstown)
60kg Renee Roach (DCU) V Rivers McCormack (St Saviours OBA)
60kg Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels)
60kg Teo Alin (Cookstown) V Jack McGivern (St Georges)
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Karolina Jaglowska (Celtic Eagles)V Caroline Gallagher (Illies GG)
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi) V Patrick Lavery (Tredagh)
91+kg Patrick Rogers (St Johns Derry) V Ciaran O’Griofa (Celtic Eagles)

Friday, November 8

Finals (6.30pm)

48kg Emma Feeney (Virginia) V Winner
49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown D) V Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family Drogheda)
51kg Kirsten Cresham (Castlebar) V Kate Radomska (St Pauls Waterford)
52kg Winner V Winner
54kg Zara Breslin (Tramore) V Siobhan McKenna (Holy Family GG)
57kg Winner V Winner
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott) V Winner
60kg Isabella Hughes (Maynooth) V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Jaide Gibbons (Crumlin)
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Rosie Doherty (St Francis) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Naoise Finney (Ballybrack) V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner



October 19

Preliminaries (12pm)

64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Aaron O’Donohue (Fr Horgans) 5-0
64kg Derek Murray (Muskerry) beat Jordan Morrissey (Athlone) 5-0
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Ryan McCarthy (Togher) 5-0
64kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) W/O
64kg Gavin Bradshaw (Drimnagh) beat Daniel McCarthy (Crumlin) 4-1
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Christian Preston (Docklands) 5-0
69kg Conor Reneghan (Keady) beat Brandon Mulligan (Clann Naofa) 5-0
69kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) beat Jack Prenderville (St Saviours OBA) RSC3
69kg Antoine Manin (Celtic Eagles) beat Darren Shannen (Muskerry) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) beat Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys) 4-1
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Jack Brady (Crumlin) 5-0
75kg Shane O’Brien (St Francis) beat Jack Lawlor (Templemore) 3-2
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Shane Dooley (St Ibars/Josephs) 3-2
75kg Martin Sweeney (St Catherines) beat Owen Bergin (Portlaoise) 4-1
75kg Oran Shields (Illies GG) beat Adam Farrell (Fr Flanagans) 3-2
75kg Rokas Balrukoni (Clane) W/O
81kg Faolan Rahill (DCU) beat Jordan Donoghue (Drimnagh) 5-0
91kg Marcin Skalski (Athlone) beat Michael McConigley (Illies GG) 4-1
91kg Shane Cunningham (Fr Horgans) W/O
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Eamon Tighe (Ballinacarrow) 5-0


52kg Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D) W/O
52kg John Cowman (St Paul’s W) beat Ben Nelson (Townland) 5-0
57kg Jennifer Lehan (DCU) W/O
57kg Kellie McLoughlin (Drimnagh) beat Catherine Blaney (Navan) 5-0
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat John Paul Hale (Star) 5-0
60kg Teo Alin (Cookstown) beat Martin Noonan (Riverstown) 5-0
60kg Jack McGivern (St Georges) beat Andrei Alexander (Crumlin) 5-0