Irish squad with IBF champion Ryan Burnett prior to start of Europeans



Make that a double!

Aoibhe Carabine claimed a second European gold for Ireland this afternoon following an inside the distance win at the European Youth and Junior Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria today.

The Geesala BC middleweight TKO’d Dziyans Novikava of Belarus in the first round in the 75kg Junior final.

Novikava took a standing count early in the frame and the ref called a halt after the talented eastern European middle took another count.

Earlier, Daina Moorehouse was bouncing around the ring in celebration after the ref raised her hand to confirm that Ireland has a new European champion.

The Wicklow light-fly beat England’s Simran Kaur on a unanimous decision to secure European Junior 48kg title.

A tight and entertaining final, Moorehouse, who boxes out of the Enniskerry BC, worked hard from opening to closing bell to take all three rounds.

The new European champions won three fights each in four days en route to the top of their respective podiums in Sofia.

Team Ireland are due home at approximately 4pm tomorrow via Dublin Airport.

Ireland will be bringing home two gold, one silver and three bronze medals for Sofia.

European Women’s Youth & Junior Championships Sofia, Bulgaria July 2nd/10th



July 3rd

75kg Lauren Kelly (Ireland) beat Gabriella Petrovics (Hungary) 4-1

Last 16
69kg Shannon Reilly (Ireland) beat Natalia Melesha (Ukraine) 5-0

July 4th

Last 16
48kg Caitlin Fryers (Ireland) beat Eliana Pileggi (Switzerland) 5-0
51kg Shauna Blaney (Ireland) lost to Goryana Stovea (Bulgaria) 0-5
54kg Mary Geraghty (Ireland) beat Anahit Aroyan (Armenia) 4-1
57kg Labhaoise Clarke (Ireland) lost to Ulyana Yesipena (Belarus) 0-5
63kg Katelynn Phelan (Ireland) beat Vyataute Kupciunaite (Lithuania) 5-0

69kg Shannon Reilly (Ireland) lost to Olivia Hussey (England) 2-3

July 5th


48kg Caitlin Fryers (Ireland) beat Christina Madalina (Romania) 4-1
54kg Mary Geraghty (Ireland) lost to Exaterina Molchanova (Russia) 0-5
60kg Marguerita Nevin (Ireland) lost to Patrycja Borys (Poland) 1-4
63kg Katelynn Phelan (Ireland) lost to Aaslahan Mehmedova (Bulgaria) 0-5

July 6th


48kg Caitlin Fryers (Ireland) beat Maxi Klitzer (Germany) 5-0
75kg Lauren Kelly (Ireland) lost to Anastasia Shamonova (Russia) RSCI3

July 8th


48kg Caitlin Fryers (Ireland) lost to Mari Todrova (Bulgaria) 0-5


July 3rd

Last 16
57kg Niamh Fay (Ireland) lost to Vilma Viitanen (Finland) 0-5
63kg Evelyn Igharo (Ireland) beat Diana Rys (Russia) 3-2

July 5th

63kg Evelyn Egharo (Ireland) lost to Gulca Arga (Turkey) 0-5
75kg Aoibhe Carabine (Ireland) beat Wiktoria Kluska (Poland) 5-0
Last 16
52kg Mary Kate Nevin (Ireland) lost to Giorgia Rossi (Italy) 0-5

July 6th

46kg Ciara Brien (Ireland) beat Lidia Monostory (Hungary) 5-0
48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) beat Viktoria Fabuliak (Ukraine) 5-0
50kg Catherine Blaney (Ireland) beat Lenka Bernardou (Czech Rep) 4-1
54kg Chloe McDaid (Ireland) lost to Jekaterina Marchenko (Latvia) 0-5

July 8th


46kg Ciara Brien (Ireland) lost to Melek Zakivova (Bulgaria) 0-5
48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) beat Diana Ermakova (Russia) 5-0
50kg Catherine Blaney (Ireland) lost to Martina La Piana (Italy) 0-5
75kg Aoibhe Carabine (Ireland) beat Angelina Tsaturian (Russia) 5-0

July 9th

48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) beat Simran Kaur (England) 5-0
75kg Aoibhe Carabine (Ireland) beat Dziyans Novikava (Belarus) TKO1

Irish Squad

48kg Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) (Silver)
51kg Shauna Blaney (Navan)
54kg Mary Geraghty (Baldoyle)
57kg Labhaoise Clarke (Carndonagh)
60kg Marguerita Nevin (St.Brigid’s, Kildare)
63kg Katelynn Phelan (St.Brigid’s, Kildare)
69kg Shannon Reilly (Bray)
75kg Lauren Kelly (St.Brigid’s, Edenderry) (Bronze)

46kg Ciara Brien (St David’s, Naas) (Bronze)
48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) (Gold)
50kg Catherine Blaney (Navan) (Bronze)
52kg Mary Kate Nevin (Elite, Mullingar)
54kg Chloe McDaid (Illies, Golden Gloves)
57kg Niamh Fay (Bracken)
63kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
75kg Aoibhe Carabine (Geesala) (Gold)

Team Manager: Bernie Harold
Head coach: Jimmy Payne
Coaches: Ger McDaid, Antoinette Faye-McClean, Liam Brereton
R & J: John Casey