Darren O'Neill (red) and Ken Okungbowa (blue) are in action at the National Stadium tonight

Darren O’Neill (red) and Ken Okungbowa (blue) are in action at the National Stadium tonight


Eight men’s quarter-finals will be decided at the National Elite Championships at the National Stadium tonight.

London 2012 Elite and former European Elite silver medallist Darren O’Neill is one of the stars in action at IABA headquarters.

Boxing begins at 7.30pm this evening.

Stephen McKenna, John Joyce and Willie O’Donoghue, who will be bringing home medals from  the European Youth Championships in Poland this weekend, make their Elite debuts over the next two weeks.

* Next weekend’s weigh-ins to be held between 8am and 9am and 12pm and 1pm on Friday and Saturday.*



National Elite Championships (2) 2015


November 21st

Q/Finals (7pm)

60kg David Oliver Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) beat Gary Cully (St Davids) 2-1
60kg Hughie Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) beat Anthony O’Rawe (Braid) 3-0
60kg George Bates (St Marys) beat Gary McKenna (Old School) 3-0
60kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) beat Tiernan Bradley (Sacred Heart) 3-0
64kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) beat Benaldo Marime (Holy Trinity) 3-0
64kg James Cleary (Olympic) beat Keith Flavin (Paulstown) 2-1
64kg Wayne Kelly (Ballynacargy) beat Gerard Matthews (St Pauls) 3-0
64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Patrick Lenihan (St Marys) 3-0
69kg Michael Bustard (Monkstown) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) TKOI3
69kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Conor Doherty (Holy Trinity) 3-0

November 29th

Q/Finals (7.30pm)

52kg Adam Courtnery (St Marys Dublin) V Jason McKay (St Pauls Antrim)
75kg Connor Coyle (St Josephs Derry) V Conor Wallace (St Monicas Newry)
75kg Eddie Byrne (Na Fianna) V Glory Lmuala Carlos (Maynooth)
81kg Sean McGlinchey (Oakleaf) W/O
81kg Matthew Tinker (St Francis) V John Paul Delaney (Emerald Antrim)
91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown) V Stephen Lawrence (Holy Family Drogheda)
91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) V Ciaran Griffin (Celtic Eagles)
91kg Kiril Afansev (Smithfield) V Christy Joyce (St Michaels Athy)
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) V Bernie O’Reilly (Portlaoise)



November 27th

48kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids Edenderry) beat Donna Barr (Twin Towns) 2-1
51kg Michaela Walsh (Holy Family GG) beat Ceire Smith (Cavan) 3-0
54kg Dervla Duffy (St Brigids Kildare) beat Elaine Harrison (Ardnaree) 2-0
57kg Moira McElligott (St Michael’s Athy) beat Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) 2-1
60kg Katie Taylor (Bray) beat Shauna O’Keeffe (Clonmel) 3-0
64kg Kelly Harrington (Glasnevin) beat Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) 3-0
69kg Clare Grace (Callan) beat Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) 3-0
75kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) W/O
81+kg Diana Campbell (Garda) beat Maeve McCarron (Carrigart) 3-0



November 20th

S/Finals (7.30pm)
48kg Donna Barr (Twin Towns) beat Alexandra Kornaga (Carrickmacross) 3-0
54kg Elaine Harrison (Ardnaree) beat Jade Corcoran (Crumlin) 3-0
60kg Shauna O’Keeffe (Clonmel) beat Kayleigh Murrihy-McCormack (Kilfenora) 3-0
64kg Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) beat Shanice Just (Arklow) 3-0
69kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) W/O