Submissions sought: IABA Rulebook Review

Work is continuing on revising the rules which govern boxing and the governance structure of the IABA. This includes review of the IABA’s Rulebook. The existing rulebook, adopted in 2019, is below and is also published here

The members of the Rules Committee undertaking this work are:

  • Art O’Brien
  • Fiona Hennigan
  • Tom Geraghty
  • Stephen Connolly.

The committee is seeking submissions from clubs and members on any proposed changes or amendments to the existing rulebook – and these can be communicated to read more

IABA High Performance Coach nominated for Sport NI award.

Damian Kennedy, with St. Paul’s Antrim boxer, Dylan Eagleson, at the 2022 Men’s European Championships.

IABA High Performance Coach, Damian Kennedy, has been nominated for a prestigious award by Sport NI.

Sport NI has announced selected nominees for certain categories of the 2023 SportMaker Awards today

The SportMaker Awards recognise the outstanding contribution of coaches, officials, volunteers and projects over the last 12 months and the vital role they play in supporting, developing, and encouraging people to benefit from the Power of Sport. read more

Lawless wins gold: Team Ireland to return from Yerevan with two World Junior Champions

Team Ireland will return home from the World Junior Championships in Yerevan, Armenia, with two World Champions and a World bronze medalist.

Yesterday, John Donoghue, of Olympic BC Mullingar, was crowned a World Junior Champion following a thrilling final against Uzbekistan’s Khikmatillo Ulmasov. This was the 15 year old 63kg boxer’s 5th bout of the tournament. The first round was a 3-2 split, in favour of Donoghue. The second round was a 4-1 split in favour of the boxer in blue, which mirrored the final result. The judges, from Armenia, Serbia, India, Tunisia and Kyrgyzstan, scored the bout: 29:28; 27:30, 28:29; 27:30; 27: 30. read more

Work in Boxing: Key Governance role – Company Secretary.

Irish Athletic Boxing Association (IABA) is looking for a Company Secretary to provide high quality, professional company secretarial services and promote good corporate governance.

This position assists in the efficient administration of the Association’s Governing Structure; ensuring Members are fully informed of legal and corporate responsibilities and ensuring full compliance with statutory regulations and corporate governance.

Key Responsibilities

Company Secretarial

  • Responsibility in the organisation and administration of meetings for the Board of Directors and selected Committees. including agenda and all meeting preparation, circulation of papers, organisation of meetings and follow up to include minutes of the meetings.
  • Maintaining action logs arising out of meetings and driving completion of actions.
  • Manage electronic board paper software, including liaison with software provider.
  • read more