Ireland is guaranteed at least four bronze medals at the European Youth Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria.

Dublin’s Niamh Fay, Donegal’s Leah Gallen, Roscommon’s Lisa O’Rourke and Enniskerry BC pocket rocket Daina Moorehouse are through to the last four.

Swords BC ace Fay got proceedings underway on an impressive unanimous decision over Gudagi Ayca of Turkey, and Moorehouse, the 2018 European Youth champion, decisioned French light-fly Rim Bennaman to move to within two wins of successfully defending the her title.

O’Rourke completed a remarkable seven days for her family and the Castlerea BC after stopping Romanian middleweight Georgina Schinte.

The Irish champion, whose sister Aoife claimed European Elite middleweight bronze in Madrid last Saturday, forced Schinte into two standing counts late in the first round and the ref waved it off.

Gallen, who boxes out of the Raphoe BC, was in top form en route to victory over Turkey’s Gulcan Arga.

Meanwhile, Nicole Clyde, Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice and Bethany Doocey lost out at the last eight stages today, while William Hayden and Jake Tucker were beaten in the last 16. Big performances from all five Irish boxers.

Dean Clancy and Jake Marley box in the quarter-finals tomorrow and  Moorehouse, Fay, Gallen and O’Rourke are back between the ropes in the semi-finals on Monday.



2019 European Men’s and Women’s Championships Sofia, Bulgaria

September 7

Last 16

69kg William Hayden (Ireland) lost to Dmitry Zakharov (Russia) 0-5
75kg Jake Tucker (Ireland) lost to Georgi Gutsav (Georgia) 0-5


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) beat Rim Bennama (France) 5-0
51kg Nicole Clyde (Ireland) lost to Simran Kaur (England) 2-3
54kg Niamh Fay (Ireland) beat Gudagi Aycan (Turkey) 5-0
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ireland) lost to Anna Maria Petrova (Bulgaria) 1-4
69kg Leah Gallen (Ireland) beat Gulcan Arga (Turkey) 4-1
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Ireland) beat Georgina Schinte (Romania) RSC1
81kg Bethany Doocey (Ireland) lost to Emily Asquith (England) AB3

September 8


56kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) v Muhamad Adan (England)
91kg Jack Marley (Ireland) v Wilfred Florentin (France)

September 9


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) v Erika Priscianaro (Italy)
54kg Niamh Fay (Ireland) v Bianca Cabzaru (Romania)
69kg Leah Gallen (Ireland) v Scilla Ambrus (Hungary)
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Ireland) v Gabriele Diekontaite (Lithuania)


September 6

Last 16

51kg Nicole Clyde (Ireland) beat Juna Schop (Netherlands) 5-0
54kg Niamh Fay (Ireland) beat Sharon Prisco (Italy) 5-0
56kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) beat Artur Shakhpazyan (Armenia) 5-0
60kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) lost to Shalva Sajaia (Georgia) 2-3
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Ireland) lost to Paige Richardson (England) 0-5
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Ireland) beat Ivona Drnic (Croatia) 4-1
91kg Jack Marley (Ireland) beat Bernhard Rentmeister (Germany) 5-0

September 5

Last 16

49kg Ryan Dunne (Ireland) lost to Rudolf Garnoyan (Armenia) 0-4
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ireland) beat Mirela Nastase (Romania) RSC1
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Ireland) lost to Amina Abramova (Ukraine) 1-4
69kg Leah Gallen (Ireland) beat Annemarie Schierle (Germany) 3-2
91+kg Owney McDonagh (Ireland) lost to Ugur Aydemir (Turkey) 0-5

Last 32

75kg Jake Tucker (Ireland) beat Vladimir Bezdenezznyich (Germany) 4-1

September 4

Last 32

52kg Jude Gallagher (Ireland) lost to Ali Dahly (Ukraine) 2-3
60kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) beat Eldar Babayev (Azerbaijan) 5-0
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Ireland) lost to Mehmet Aydemir (Turkey) 1-4
69kg William Hayden (Ireland) beat Arsen Grigoryan (Armenia) 3-2
81kg Jason Myers (Ireland) lost to Ilia Bogatyrev (Russia) 1-4

Irish squad


49kg Ryan Dunne (Jobstown)
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin)
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald, Antrim)
81kg Jason Myers (Titans)
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D)
91+kg Owen McDonagh (St Annes)


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) (Bronze, at least)
51kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim)
54kg Niamh Fay (Swords) (Bronze, at least)
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ryston)
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
69kg Leah Gallen (Raphoe) (Bronze, at least)
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea) (Bronze, at least)
81kg Bethany Doocey (Castlebar)


IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team Managers: Patrick Osborne & Anna Moore
Coaches: William McClean, Aoife Hennigan, Anita Just, Brian Barry, Liam Cunningham