Galway’s defending welterweight champion Kieran Molloy, Chloe Fleck and James McGivern  won their semi-final bouts at the National Elite Championships at Dublin’s National Stadium tonight, Molloy beating Dublin’s Luke Maguire on a 4-1 split decision.

Cork light heavy Tommy Hyde also impressed – almost three quarters of a century after his great grand uncle, also Tommy Hyde, won an Elite belt at the same venue in 1946 -, while Galway middleweight Gabriel Dossen beat Derry’s Brett McGinty to reach his first Elite final at the first time of asking.

Hyde, whose dad Gary Hyde managed Cuba’s two-time gold medallist and world pro champion Guillermo Rigondeaux, will face Thomas O’Toole for light heavy gold next Saturday.

A semi-final card would not be complete without a shock, and Tony Browne provided it with a points victory over defending heavyweight champion Kiril Afanasev after a close Dublin derby, while big Ken Okungbowa won the corresponding semi-final.

Tipperary’s defending super heavy champion Dean Gardiner and Limerick’s Martin Keenan will contest the 91kg+ gold medal bout after both men won this evening.

George Bates, the 2018 60kg champion and Emmett Brennan also had their hands raised in triumph. Bates won Elite 60kg gold this month last year. He’s now aiming for the 63kg jackpot. Commonwealth medallist James McGivern stands in his way.

The 2019 National Elite finals will be decided next Saturday at the National Stadium.

World Elite lightweight champion Kellie Harrington will meet Sweden’s Jelena Jelic in an international bout on Elite finals night next Saturday at the Stadium.

Harrington received a walkover at the Elites as no opponent entered against her. Serbia-born Jelic was beaten by Olympic champion Katie Taylor on a Kanturk BC hosted show in Cork in 2016.

(Images: Paddy Donovan (red), Kieran Molloy, Kenneth Okungbowa and Emmett Brennan and opponents. Pictures courtesy of Paddy Gallagher)

2019 National Men’s and Women’s Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

February 16

S/Finals (6pm)

48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) beat Courtney Daly (Crumlin) 5-0
48kg Donna Barr (Illies GG) W/O
63kg James McGivern (St Georges) beat Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown) 4-1
63kg George Bates (St Marys) beat Keith Flavin (Paulstown) 5-0
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) beat  Luke Maguire (Esker) 4-1
69kg Patrick Donovan (OLOL) beat  Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) 3-2
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) beat  Brett McGinty (Oakleaf) 5-0
75kg Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin) beat Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) 4-1
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) beat  David Bicevis (St Saviours OBA) 3-0
81kg Tommy Hyde (Mayfield) beat Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco Bel) 3-2
91kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) beat Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) 3-1
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat  Karol Dlugosz (Scorpion) 5-0
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)  Thomas Carthy (Crumlin) 5-0
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) beat Gydis Linskyas (Celtic Eagles) 5-0

February 15

Q/finals & S/Finals


48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) beat Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D) 4-0

48kg Donna Barr (Illies GG) beat Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) 5-0


49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown D) beat Rory Baird (Ederney) 5-0
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) beat Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family Drog) 4-0
57kg Dearbhla Duffy (Crumlin) beat Mary Geraghty (St Anthony’s Dub) 5-0
57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) beat Myles Casey (St Francis) 4-1
57kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) beat Tommy Casey (St Francis) 4-1
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) beat Shane Flavin (Portlaoise) 4-1
64kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) beat Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) 5-0
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) beat Tina Donnelly (Dublin Docklands) RSC3

69kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) beat Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s Dublin) 5-0

Saturday February 23


48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) V Donna Barr (Illies GG)
49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s) V Sean Mari (Monkstown D)
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family GG) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
52kg Evan Metcalf (Hyland BA) V Adam Hession (Monivea)
54kg Emma Flannery (Baldoyle) W/O
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) V Dearbhla Duffy (Crumlin)
57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) V Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh)
60kg Kellie Harrington (St Marys Dublin) W/O (Harrington will meet Sweden’s Jelena Jelic in an international bout)
60kg Dominic Bradley (Errigal) V David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)
63kg James McGivern (St Georges) v George Bates (St Marys)
64kg Moira McElligot (St Michaels Athy) V Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) V Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) V Patrick Donovan (OLOL)
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) V Chayanne O’Neill (Athlone)
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) V Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin)
80kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) V Lisa Browne (Aglish)
80+kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) V Tommy Hyde (Mayfield)
91kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)

91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) V Martin Keenan (Rathkeale)

February 9


63kg James McGivern (St Georges) beat Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) 5-0
63kg Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dub) beat Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) 4-1
63kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) beat Matthew McCole (Dungloe) 3-2
63kg George Bates (St Marys, Dublin) beat Michael Avetisian (Swords) RSCI3
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) beat Aaron Daly (Castlebar) 5-0
69kg Luke Maguire (Esker) beat Michael McGrane (Crumlin) 5-0
69kg Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.) beat Conor Ivors (St Francis) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Dean Walsh (St Ibars/Josephs) 4-1
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) beat Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) 3-2
75kg Brett McGinty (Oakleaf) beat Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) 3-2
75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) beat Gerard French (Emerald Antrim) 5-0
75kg Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin) beat Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) 5-0
91kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) beat Liam Greene (South Meath) 4-1
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat Danny O’Brien (Santry/Defence Forces) 5-0
91kg Karol Dlugosz (Scorpion) beat Geoffrey Kavanagh (St Michaels) 4-1
81kg David Bicevis (St Saviours OBA) beat Robbie Burke (Glasnevin) 3-2
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) beat Tommy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy) RSC1
91+kg Thomas Carthy (Crumlin) beat Dean Scullion (Loughshore) 5-0
91+kg Gydis Linskyas (Celtic Eagles) beat Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles) 3-2

91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) beat Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) 5-0

February 8


57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) beat Conor Kerr (Monkstown Antrim) 5-0
57kg Tommy Casey (St Francis) beat Adam Courtney (St Mary’s Dublin) 4-0
63kg James McGivern (St Georges) beat Senan Kelly (Crumlin) 5-0
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) beat Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle) 5-0
63kg Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dub) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
63kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) beat Dylan Duffy (Pegasus) 5-0
63kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) beat Terry McEntee (Old School/DCU) 4-1
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drog) 3-2
91+kg Tommy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy) beat Denis Borskins (Sacred Heart Newry) 5-0
91+kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat James Clarke (Crumlin) 4-1