29 Strong Team Named For 2022 European Schools Championship.

A 29 strong team of Junior Cadets has been named to contest the 2022 European Schools Championships.

The tournament is being hosted by the Turkish Boxing Federation in Erzurum, from August 10th to 21st.

The team is comprised of 13 female boxers, and 16 male boxers, all aged 13 and 14.

This is the first time these boxers will represent their country in international competition, although some Junior Cadets will have experienced international competition or training camps through their club, county board or provincial unit.

Team Ireland Squad:

34-36kg Ellen Winnie Joyce, Olympic L, Co. Westmeath

38kg Carley O’Herron, Rochfordbridge BC, Co. Westmeath

40kg Elma Barry, Setanta L, Co. Kildare

42kg Abbey Molloy, Sacred Heart BC, Dublin.

44kg Lauren Doherty Crinnion, Fr. Horgan’s, Co. Cork

46kg Alanna O’Brien, Setanta L, Co. Kildare

48kg Mary Furlong, Na Fianna BC, Co. Wexford

51kg Donna Marie McCarthy, Mayfield BC, Co. Cork

54kg Robyn Charlie Carlyle, Crumlin BC, Dublin

57kg Faith Kileen, Jobstown BC, Dublin

60kg Cassie May Henderson, Gilford ABC, Co. Armagh

64kg Alannah Kenny, Clonmel BC, Co. Tipperary

70kg Chloe Louise Poleon, Dunboyne BC, Co. Meath

37-40kg Kalib Walshe, Wexford CBS, Co. Wexford

42kg Lochlainn Michael Beagan , Sean Doran’s BC, Co.

44kg Danial Joyce, Elite Mullingar, Co. Westmeath

46kg James Michael Casey, Sliabh Luchra BC, Co. Kerry

48kg Christian Doyle, Olympic L, Co. Westmeath

50kg Brandon Geoghegan, Sacred Heart, Dublin

52kg Cian Michael Stapleton, Marble City BC, Co. Kilkenny

54kg Danny John Mahon, Fr. Flanagan’s BC, Co, Kildare

57kg John Daniel Maher, Olympic L, Co. Westmeath

60kg Edward Harty, Portloaise BC, Co. Laois

63kg Broderick Adbuire, Jobstown BC, Dublin

66kg Rocco Dempsey, Avona BC, Dublin

70kg John Paul Mongans, Rathkeale BC, Co. Limerick

75kg Callum Francis Barrett, Olympic C, Co. Galway

80kg Richard Daniel Kiely, Midleton BC, Co. Cork

90kg Jordie Cooke, Gleann BC, Co. Antrim

The draw takes place on Thursday, August 11th. Preliminaries begin on August 12th, and semi finals from August 18th. All finals are scheduled to be boxed on Saturday, August 20th.

Team Manager: Philip Rooney


Amanda Spencer

Lynn McEnery

Brian Barry

Stephen Molloy

R&J: Dermot McDermott

The EUBC is expected to live-stream the tournament on its YouTube channel, but confirmation is expected closer to the competition