Brendan Irvine (red) in action

The Northern Ireland team for the 2018 Commonwealth Games has been confirmed, with a 13-strong male and female squad named for the 21st edition of the tournament in Gold Coast, Australia.

Ireland Rio Olympians Brendan Irvine and Steven Donnelly are included in the side, along with European Elite bronze medallist Kurt Walker and Sean McComb, who beat Russia’s World Elite champion,Vitaly Dunaystev, twice last year.

Michaela Walsh, who claimed EU Elite gold for Ireland in 2017, Carly McNaul, former EU medallist Alanna Nihell and Kristina O’Hara are also included in the panel.

Walsh was edged out in the 2014 Commonwealth final in Glasgow on a split decision by England’s two-time Olympic champion Nicola Adams.

Commonwealth Games Youth champions James McGivern and Aidan Walsh line out at light and welter.

Northern Ireland topped the boxing medals table at the 2010 Commonwealths in New Delhi and finished 2nd in the medals table in Glasgow four years later.

An impressive haul of 14 medals – five of which were gold –  were won at both tournaments.

John Conlan, Peter Brady and Damien Kennedy will be working the Irish corner in Australia.

2018 Commonwealth Games, Gold Coast Australia, April  4th/15th


48kg Kristina O’Hara (St John Bosco)
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family)
52kg Brendan Irvine (St Paul’s)
56kg Kurt Walker (Canal)
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown)
60kg James McGivern (St George’s)
60kg Alanna Nihell (Eastside/British Army)
64kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity)
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown)
75kg Steven Donnelly (All Saints)
81kg Conor Wallace (Holy Family Drogheda)
91kg Dee Sullivan (Emerald)
+91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity)