Ireland experienced contrasting fortunes on the opening day of the European Junior Championships in Galati, Romania this afternoon and evening.

Five decisions for and five decisions against was the story of the day in a see-saw introduction to the 2019 edition of the tournament for Ireland’s top young prospects.

Robyn Kelly, pictured above, Tiegan Farrell, Michael McDonagh and Taylor Guiney recorded four wins in the 1st session but Thomas McDonnell lost on points after a close three-rounder with Belarus’ Dzmitry Barysav.

Martin McCullough deservedly advanced after a fiery bantam battle with Sweden’s Kevin Bohm, while Thomas King was involved in a real toe-to-toe tussle with Niv Rahamin, the Israeli light-welter getting a decision in one of the bouts of the day.

Selby Myers and James Ward bowed out to Belarus and England. Ward was edged on a 3-2 split by Jack Turnbull. Big performance from both Irish athletes, as Shelby was also shaded on a 3-2 split.

McCullough, meantime, won’t have much time to celebrate his victory as he’s back in 16 action tomorrow, along with Irish female captain Rachael Lawless, Aaliyah Butler, Winnie McDonagh and Mark Duffy.

Musta Edris meets England’s Royston Barney-Smith in the last 32.

Sixty five bouts were decided today in Galati.

Saturday’s sessions begin at 1pm and 4pm (Irish times). Click here for program. Click here for today’s results.

(The exact scores will be available when published by EUBC)


European Male and Female Junior Championships Galati, Romania, May 22/June 2

May 24

Prelims Last 16/32

1st session

48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) beat Zoltan Cservak (Hungary) 5-0
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) beat Iryna Melnyk (Ukraine) 5-0
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) beat Orhan Mehmet (Turkey) 5-0
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) beat Petra Kovacs (Hungary) 5-0
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Ireland) lost to Dzmitry Barysav (Belarus) 1-4

2nd session

50kg Jason Nevin (Ireland) lost to Saba Tkebuchave (Georgia) 1-4
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) beat Kevin Bohm (Sweden) 5-0
60kg Shelby Myres (Ireland) lost to Maryna Muliarchk (Belarus) 2-3
63kg Thomas King (Ireland) lost to Niv Rahamin (Israel) 1-4
80kg James Ward (Ireland) lost to Jack Turnbull (England) 2-3

May 25

(Last 16)

52kg Rachael Lawless (Ireland) v Sophia Mazzoni (Italy)
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Ireland) v Ellie Taylor (Wales)
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) v Ares Hakoyban (Armenia)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Ireland) v Ceren Tuncer (Turkey)
75kg Mark Duffy (Ireland) v Lucian Miltitelu (Romania)

Last 32

54kg Mustafa Edris (Ireland) v Royston Smith-Barney (England)

May 26

Last 16

46kg Dylan Eagleson (Ireland) v Rafael Lozano (Spain)
48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) v James Sweney (Scotland)
52kg Donagh Keary (Ireland) v England or Azerbaijan
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Ireland v Poland or Romania
60kg Michael McCarthy (Ireland) v Giorgi Zhorzhaliani (Georgia)
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) v Andrei Mustet (Turkey)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ireland) v Alperen Terzi (Turkey)

May 27


48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) v Gamze Soguksu (Turkey)
70kg Shauna Doherty (Ireland) v Melania Moldovan (Romania)
80kg Margaret Stokes (Ireland) v Natalia Hodyk (Ukraine)

May 28


46kg Breda Quilligan (Ireland) Romania or Hungary
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Ireland) v Veronika Zajicova (Czech Republic)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) v Radmyla Rodinova (Ukraine)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Ireland) v Nur Kocaoglu (Turkey)

Irish squad


46kg Breda Quilligan (Rathkeale)
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ballynacargy)
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Mulhuddart)
52kg Rachael Lawless (Portlaoise) Cpt
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Monivea)
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Corinthians)
60kg Shelby Myres (Crumlin)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Neilstown)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Arklow)
70kg Shauna Doherty (Sacred Heart, Dublin)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Clann Naofa)
80kg Margaret Stokes (Callan)


46kg Dylan Eagleson (St Pauls, Antrim)
48kg Michael Donoghue (St Michaels Athy)
50kg Jason Nevin (Olympic Mullingar)
52kg Donagh Keary (Rathfirlnd)
54kg Mustafa Edris (Monkstown, Dublin)
57kg Martin McCullough (Gleann)
60kg Michael McCarthy (Mayfield)
63kg Thomas King (Ratoath)
66kg Taylor Guiney (Drimngh)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis) Cpt
75kg Mark Duffy (Charlestown)
80kg John Ward (Brosna)
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Docklands)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team managers: Eugene O’Kane Snr and Anne Murphy
Coaches: Billy McClean, James Doyle, Gerard McDaid, John Gallagher, Aoife Hennigan
R&J: Loughlin Gannon