The 2017 National Elite Championships got underway tonight with nine unanimous and three split decisions at the National Stadium in Dublin.

Please scroll down for results.

Former Elite champion Myles Casey, pictured, beat Eamon McNally, but his St Francis BC team-mate Tommy Casey lost to TJ Waite, who was beaten by Rio Olympian Brendan Irvine in the 2015 Irish final.

St Francis BC chief seconds Ken Moore praised the performance of both men in an emotional week for the Treaty City unit following the death of club President Noel Griffin.

“Both of our lads performed well. It will be hard for us to say goodbye to Noel at tomorrow’s funeral. He has given sixty years service to Limerick and Irish boxing and is irreplaceable,” said Moore, former club coach to Irish Olympian and ex-WBO World middleweight champion Andy Lee.

Mark McCole also won tonight to set up Saturday’s clash with European Elite bronze medallist Dean Walsh, who claimed the light-welter Elite last time out but who has moved up to welter.

Evan Metcalfe, Emmet Brennan, Fearghus Quinn, Stephen Broadhurst, Caoimhin Hynes, Michael Frayne, John Joe McDonagh, Anthony Brown and Cormac Long also had their hands raised in victory.

Long beat Geoffrey Kavanagh in a repeat of the recent National U/22 final with Kavanagh won.

The tournament resumes tomorrow evening at 7pm. Saturday’s weigh-ins – 8am to 9am at the National Stadium.

*The IABA are using all five judges to score bouts in line with new AIBA directives. Five judges did score bouts prior to the Rio 2016 Olympics but only three scores were used.*



National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

Q/Finals: February 3rd (7pm)

52kg TJ Waite (Ormeau Road) beat Tommy Casey (St Francis) 5-0
56kg Evan Metcalfe (Crumlin) beat Frankie Cleary (Ballina) 5-0
56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) beat Eamon McNally (St Michaels Antrim) 5-0
69kg Mark McCole (Dungloe) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
75kg Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin) beat John Joyce (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) beat Glory Carlos Lumuala (Maynooth) 5-0
75kg Stephen Broadhurst (Delagan) beat David Bicevas (St Saviours OBA) 5-0
75kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Conor Doherty (Emerald Antrim) 5-0
81kg Michael Frayne (St Marys Dublin) beat  Robert Burke (Glasnevin) 5-0
81kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) beat  Sean Conroy (Ballina) 3-2
91kg John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin) beat Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) 3-2
91kg Cormac Long (Rathkeale) beat Geoffrey Kavanagh (Glasnevin) 4-1


February 4th

Q/Finals (7pm)

60kg Alan O’Connor (Bawnogue) V Gary McKenna (Old School)
64kg Colm Quinn (Castlebar) V Patrick Linehan (St Marys Dublin)
69kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) V Mark McCole (Dungloe)
69kg Tiernan Bradley (Sacred Heart O) V Gerard French (Clonard U)
69kg Nathan Watson (Saints) V Peter Carr (Crumlin)
69kg Ross Boyle (Mourne GG) V Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) V Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dublin)
91+kg James Clarke (Kilnamanagh) V Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise)
91+kg Thomas Carty (Glasnevin) V John McDonnell (Crumlin)


February 10th

S/Finals (7pm)

48kg Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D) V Kristina O’Hara (St John Bosco A)
49kg Blaine Dobbins (St Josephs Derry) V Connor Jordan (St Aidans)
52kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls Antrim) V Winner
57kg Dervla Duffy (Mulhuddart) V Tiegan Russell (Fr Horgans)
57kg Amanda Coughlan (Paulstown) V Moira McElligot (St Michaels Athy)
56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) V Winner
60kg George Bates (St Marys Dublin) V Winner
64kg Sidhbh Greene (St Brigids Eden) V Emma Agnew (Delagan)
64kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Joe Ward (Moate) V Winner
91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown) V Winner
91+kg Damien Sullivan (Emerald Antrim) V Winner

February 11th

S/Finals (7pm)

52kg Thomas McCarthy (Mayfield) V Adam Courtney (St Marys Dublin)
56kg Winner V Stephen McKenna (Old School)
60kg Shauna O’Keeffe (Clonmel) V Amy Broadhurst (Delgean)
60kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) V Patrick Mongan (Olympic)
64kg Cheyanne O’Neill (Ahtlone) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
64kg Benaldo Marime (Holy Trinity) V Wayne Kelly (Ballynacargy)
69kg Tina Donnelly (Corinthians) V Grainne Walsh (Spartacus)
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Sean Allen (Arlow)
91kg Winner V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)
91+kg Winner V Winner


February 17th

Finals (7:30pm)

48kg Shannon Sweeney (St Annes) V Winner
49kg Darryl Moran (Illies GG) V Winner
51kg Carly McNaul (Ormeau Road) W/O
52kg Winner V Winner
54kg Terry Mullarney (Ballyhaunis) W/O
57kg Winner V Winner~
56kg Winner V Winner
60kg Kelly Harrington (Glasnevin) V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winne
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Gillian Duffy (Bray) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) W/O
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Caroline Connolly (Mourne GG) V Leona Houlihan (Crumlin)
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Maeve McCarron (Carrigart) W/O
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner