Please scroll down for Day 2 program for 2019 National Elite Championships at Dublin’s National Stadium.

Defending light-welter champion Wayne Kelly meets James McGivern in the opening bout of the session and welterweight titlist Kieran Molloy is in against Aaron Daly.

All eyes on be on the middleweight “El Classico” between defending 75kg champion Michael Nevin and U/22 champion Gabriel Dossen who both ensured that Ireland made an impression on the medals table at the 2016 World Youths in St Petersburg after claiming double bronze.

Multiple Elite champions Dean Walsh and Dean Gardiner are also in action this evening. Boxing begins at 5.30pm and 20 bouts will be decided.

Note that the running order for the February 23 finals will be confirmed in due course.

Eleven contests were decided on the opening night of the 2019 Elite last evening.

(Below images from Friday’s bouts courtesy of Michael Hade)

Tommy Casey v Adam Courtney
James Mcgivern
Tommy Sheahen v Denis Borskins
Aidan Walsh



2019 National Men’s and Women’s Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

Februuary 9

Q/Finals (5.30pm)

63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) V James McGivern (St Georges)
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) V Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dub)
63kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) V Matthew McCole (Dungloe)
63kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) V George Bates (St Mary’s Dublin)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) V Aaron Daly (Castlebar)
69kg Michael McGrane (Crumlin) V Luke Maguire (Esker)
69kg Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.) V Conor Ivors (St Francis)
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) V Dean Walsh (St Ibars/Josephs)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) V Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) V Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) V Gerard French (Emerald Antrim)
75kg Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) V Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin)
91kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) V Liam Greene (South Meath)
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) V Danny O’Brien (Santry/Defence Forces)
91kg Geoffrey Kavanagh (St Michaels) V Karol Dlugosz (Scorpion)
81kg David Bicevis (St Saviours OBA) V Robbie Burke (Glasnevin)
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) V Tommy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy)
91+kg Dean Scullion (Loughshore) V Thomas Carthy (Crumlin)
91+kg Gydis Linskyas (Celtic Eagles) V Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagle)
91+kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) V Martin Keenan (Rathkeale)

February 8


57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) beat Conor Kerr (Monkstown Antrim) 5-0
57kg Tommy Casey (St Francis) beat Adam Courtney (St Mary’s Dublin) 4-0
63kg James McGivern (St Georges) beat Senan Kelly (Crumlin) 5-0
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) beat Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle) 5-0
63kg Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dub) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
63kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) beat Dylan Duffy (Pegasus) 5-0
63kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) beat Terry McEntee (Old School/DCU) 4-1
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drog) 3-2
91+kg Tommy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy) beat Denis Borskins (Sacred Heart Newry) 5-0
91+kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat James Clarke (Crumlin) 4-1

Friday February 15

Q/finals & S/Finals (7pm)


48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) V Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Donna Barr (Illies GG)


49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown D) V Rory Baird (Ederney)
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) V Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family Drog)
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthony’s Dub) V Dearbhla Duffy (Crumlin)
57kg Myles Casey (St Francis) V Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
57kg Tommy Casey (St Francis) V Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh)
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) V Shane Flavin (Portlaoise)
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) V Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) V Tina Donnelly (Dublin Docklands)
69kg Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s Dublin) V Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)

Saturday February 16

S/Finals (6pm)

48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) V Winner
48kg Winner V Emma Feeney (Virginia)
63kg Winner V Winner
63kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) V Winner
81kg Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco Bel) V Tommy Hyde (Mayfield)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner

Saturday February 23


48kg Winner V Winner
49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s) V Winner
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family GG) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
52kg Evan Metcalf (Hyland BA) V Winner
54kg Emma Flannery (Baldoyle) W/O
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Kellie Harrington (St Marys Dublin) W/O
60kg Dominic Bradley (Errigal) V Winner
63kg Winner V Winner
64kg Moira McElligot (St Michaels Athy) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) V Chayanne O’Neill (Athlone)
75kg Winner V Winner
80kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) V Lisa Browne (Aglish)
80+kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O
81kg Winner V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner