Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice recorded Ireland’s most emphatic victory of the European Youths so far after an inside the distance win over Mirela Nastase today.

Nastase was down inside the first 20 seconds of the first round and the fight was waved off after 87 seconds after the Romania feather took a second standing count.

Donegal welter Leah Gallan showed her character to bounce back from losing the first versus Germany’s Annemarie Schierle.

However, the Raphoe BC orthodox, wobbling her opponent with a right at the start of the frame, took the second on three of the five cards and won the third across to board to move to within one win of at least bronze.

Sinainn Glynn was edged on a split versus Amina Abramova. The Cloghan BC light gave as good as she got in a tight three-rounder but four of the five judges leaned toward the Ukranian.

Earlier today, Jake Tucker advanced following an impressive win over Germany’s Vladimir Bezdenezznyich.

The Antrim middleweight dictated the pace of the fight in all three rounds and landed the majority of the cleaner shots to set up a last 16 meeting with Georgia’s Georgi Gutsav on Saturday.

Owney McDonagh bowed out to Turkey’s Ugur Aydemir. Both young men had their moments in an evenly matched super heavy contest with McDonagh picking up a leg injury near the end of the third round.

Ryan Dunne, the last Irish boxer in action this evening, lost on four cards to Armenian light-fly Rudolf Garnoyan with a fifth judge scoring an up-tempo and fiery all southpaw battle 28-28. Garnoyan took the last round 5-0.

Seven Irish boxers are between the ropes tomorrow.

Images, courtesy of Margit Kincses; Irish squad and coaches and family and fans at Sports Hall venue). 


2019 European Men’s and Women’s Championships Sofia, Bulgaria (September 2/11)

September 5

Last 16 & 32

49kg Ryan Dunne (Ireland) lost to Rudolf Garnoyan (Armenia) 0-4
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ireland) beat Mirela Nastase (Romania) RSC1
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Ireland) lost to Amina Abramova (Ukraine) 1-4
69kg Leah Gallen (Ireland) beat Annemarie Schierle (Germany) 3-2
91+kg Owney McDonagh (Ireland) lost to Ugur Aydemir (Turkey) 0-5

Last 32

75kg Jake Tucker (Ireland) beat Vladimir Bezdenezznyich (Germany) 4-1

September 6

Last 16

51kg Nicole Clyde (Ireland) v Juna Schop (Netherlands)
54kg Niamh Fay (Ireland) v Sharon Prisco (Italy)
56kg Dean Clancy (Ireland) v Artur Shakhpazyan (Armenia)
60kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) v Shalva Sajaia (Georgia)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Ireland) v Paige Richardson (England)
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Ireland) v Ivona Drnic (Croatia)
91kg Jack Marley (Ireland) v Bernhard Rentmeister (Germany)

September 7

Last 16

69kg William Hayden (Ireland) v Dmitry Zakharov (Russia)
75kg Jake Tucker (Ireland) v Georgi Gutsav (Georgia)


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Ireland) v Rim Bennama (France)
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ireland) v Anna Maria Petrova (Bulgaria)
69kg Leah Gallen (Ireland) v Gulcan Arga (Turkey)
81kg Bethany Doocey (Ireland) v Emily Asquith (England)


September 4

Last 32

52kg Jude Gallagher (Ireland) lost to Ali Dahly (Ukraine) 2-3
60kg Brandon McCarthy (Ireland) beat Eldar Babayev (Azerbaijan) 5-0
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Ireland) lost to Mehmet Aydemir (Turkey) 1-4
69kg William Hayden (Ireland) beat Arsen Grigoryan (Armenia) 3-2
81kg Jason Myers (Ireland) lost to Ilia Bogatyrev (Russia) 1-4

Irish squad


49kg Ryan Dunne (Jobstown)
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin)
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald, Antrim)
81kg Jason Myers (Titans)
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D)
91+kg Owen McDonagh (St Annes)


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
51kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim)
54kg Niamh Fay (Swords)
57kg Lauren Dempsey-Fitzmaurice (Ryston)
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
69kg Leah Gallen (Raphoe)
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea)
81kg Bethany Doocey (Castlebar)


IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team Managers: Patrick Osborne & Anna Moore
Coaches: William McClean, Aoife Hennigan, Anita Just, Brian Barry, Liam Cunningham