Day One: National Boy/Girl 1, 2 & 3 Championships, 2022

The 2022 National Boy/Girl 1, 2 and 3 Championships begin at the National Stadium, Dublin, today.

In all, 511 boxers are contesting the tournament, which concludes on April 30th.

59 bouts are down for decision today, in a card which begins at 1pm.

The first 25 bouts are the Boy/Girl 1 Quarter Finals. The second group of bouts, of which there are 34, are Boy/Girl 2 Quarter Finals.

Weigh-ins for these competitions are daily. Boxers weigh-in on the day they box, between 8am and 9am.

Competition schedule:

April 18th, boxing begins at 1pm – BG 1 Quarter Finals, followed by BG 2 Quarter Finals

April 19th, boxing begins at 11am – BG3 Quarter Finals followed by BG1 Semi Finals

April 20th, boxing begins at 11am – G1 Semi-Finals, followed by B2 Semi-Finals

April 21st, boxing begins at 11am – G2 Semi-Finals,  followed by B3 Semi-Finals

April 22nd, boxing begins at 11am – G3 Semi-Finals, followed by BG1 Finals, which begin at 5pm.

April 23rd, boxing begins at 11am – B2 Finals

April 30th: boxing begins at 12pm – BG3 Finals.

Boy/Girl 1 Quarter Finals

  1. 29kg  James Scally (Olympic L) V Jack Leahy (Cove)
  2. 29kg  Joseph McParland (St Monicas) V Christy Nevin (Crumlin)
  3. 31kg  Pat Stokes (Olympic L) V Kyle Gibbons (St John Bosco N)
  4. 31kg  Tom Doherty (Holy Trinity) V Paddy Delaney (Olympic C)
  5. 33kg  Patrick McCarthy (Sliabh Luachra) V Sean Kelly (Kilmyshall)
  6. 33kg  Kane Bacon (Saints) V Emmet Sheilds (Glasnevin)
  7. 35kg  TJPeake (Ballyhaunis) V Sean Mc Namee (St Johns U)
  8. 35kg  Daniel Grigojen (Lisburn) V Dean O’Halloran (St Pappins)
  9. 37kg  Ola Agbabiaka (Dealgan) V Barney McQuaid (Armagh)
  10. 37kg  Liam Denver (Townland) V Michael Nevin (Frenchpark)
  11. 37kg  Harry Hassan (Gleann) V Andy Lynch (St Francis)
  12. 38.5kg James Feeney (Gilford) V Oisin Goff (Sacre Coeur)
  13. 38.5kg Finn Close (Townland) V Johnny Doherty (Avona)
  14. 40kg  Sam McGrath (Clonmel) V Oisin Woods (Ormeau Road)
  15. 40kg  Tyler Lee Reilly (Elite Mullingar) V Alex Durkan (St Catherines)
  16. 43kg  Henri Mahai (Crumlin) V Wayne Barrett (Titans)
  17. 44.5kg Jimmy McDonagh (Leeside Lough) V Oisin O’Donnell (Convoy)
  18. 45kg  Lucy Prentice (Portadown) V  Aoife Lennon (Dealgan)
  19. 45kg  Sophie Nugent (Esker) V  Priscilla Hutchinson (Tipperary Town)
  20. 46kg  Jude McLaughlin (Antrim)  V Sean Hughes (Skerries)
  21. 46kg  Maksimus Yaitekunas (Ballinrobe)  V Paddy Kane (St Marys Newross)
  22. 50kg  Adam Delaney (Spartacus) V Martin Mongans (Rathkeale)
  23. 56kg  Patrick Ward (Gurteen) V Tommy Mulqueen (Corpus Christi)
  24. 56kg  Daniel Ward (Omagh B&G) V Darragh Brennan (Sacred Heart Tolerton)
  25. 62kg Mike Harty (Rathkeale) V Jack Beasley (Oakleaf)

Boy/Girl 2 Quarter Finals

  1. 33kg  Layla Cairns (Legacy) V Cara Weatherall (St Pauls A)
  2. 33kg  Taylor Parke (Raphoe) V Charlie Conroy (Olympic C)
  3. 33kg  Reese Holohan (Portlaoise) V Colin O’Brien (Ballymun)
  4. 33kg Lee Largey Snodden (Immaculata)  V Jase Green (Golden Gloves M)
  5. 33kg  Donachadh  Beagan (Sean Dorans) V Conal Dunlop (St Pauls A)
  6. 35kg  Nicholas O’Rourke (St Abbans) V  Mikey McDonagh (Avona)
  7. 35kg  Simon O’Donnell (Olympic C) V Joseph Kearney (Saints)
  8. 37kg  Patrick Whitehouse (Killyman) V James Cleary (Olympic C)
  9. 38.5kg CJ Gillen (Townland) V David Nevin (Monkstown D)
  10. 38.5kg Conal McGrath (Ederney) V Alex Delaney (Galway)
  11. 38.5kg Michael B O’Reilly (Dungarvan) V Daire McGuinness (St Monicas)
  12. 40kg  Brody Martin (Gilford) V Peter Collins (Drimnagh)
  13. 41.5kg Nathan Clarke (Monkstown D) V John Barrett (Olympic C)
  14. 41.5kg Lorcan Houlihan (Portlaoise) V Cian Sullivan (Connemara)
  15. 41.5kg Owen McCann (Saints) V Liam Waters (Riverstown)
  16. 43kg  Andrew Sweeney (Olympic C) V Keith Muma (Tredagh)
  17. 43kg  Timmy Gray (St Pauls Nenagh) V  Brandon Corcoran (Cherry Orchard)
  18. 44.5kg Phoenix Kenny (Baldoyle) V  Mike Powe (Rathkeale)
  19. 44.5kg Jason Donoghue (Olympic L) V Michael Ward (Claremorris)
  20. 46kg  Bernard McDonagh (Galway) V  Patrick Myers (Olympic L)
  21. 46kg  Kian Quigley (Monkstown D) V  Kai Dynes (Immaculata)
  22. 48kg  Francis Regan (Immaculata) V Ned McDonagh (Avona)
  23. 50kg  Paul O’Driscoll (Corpus Christi) V Christopher Doyle (Urlingford)
  24. 52kg Meehal McGrath (Two Castles) V Francis Donovan (Olympic C)
  25. 52kg James McCarthy (Urlingford) V Joseph Ritchie (All Saints)
  26. 52kg  Oisin O’Connor (Ennis) V Phelim Hogan (Crumlin)
  27. 54kg Martin Collins (Baldoyle) V Darren O’Toole (Enniskerry)
  28. 56kg  Shane Duke (Dukes) V Cian Ryan (St Brigids Kildare)
  29. 57kg  Freya Crotty (Riverstown) V Madina Bagirova (Smithfield)
  30. 59kg  Sean Doohan (Dunfanaghy) V Jack Liddy (Ennis)
  31. 59kg  Anthony Crickard (Holy Trinity) V John McDonagh (Galway)
  32. 65kg  Thomas Mongan (Galway) V Rhys McCormack (Holy Family Drogheda)
  33. 68kg  Norman Sturdy (Loughglynn) V  Ronan Sands (Oliver Plunkett)
  34. 68kg  Pete Magee (St Conleths) V Patrick Maughan (Armagh)

Boxing on Day Two of the competition, on April 19th, will begin at 11am. The Boy/Girl 3 Quarter Finals will be followed by the Boy/Girl 1 Semi Finals

Competition arrangements:

Venue: National Boxing Stadium, Dublin.

Dates: April 18th – April 23rd, April 29th, 30th.

Entries: An entry fee of €10 applies. Boxers will be pre-entered by their Units from the weights they won at in their Unit Championships. Deadline for entries received by Stephen Connolly: and is 12pm on Monday 11th April.

Any boxer beaten in their Unit championships but who was an Irish Champion at Boy/Girl 1 & 2 from Drimnagh in December 2021, is eligible for participation as the defending champion.

Draws: Wednesday, 13th April, 2pm in the National Stadium. The draw is being conducted on the basis of pre-entry only.

Weigh-in and Medical: Boxers will weigh in on the day they box.

Weigh-in times: The National Stadium from 8.00am – 9.00am

Boxing Record books to be presented by the boxer at their initial weigh-in if not previously given to the IABA.

Boxing: 11am each day, unless otherwise stated

Duration of rounds: 3 x 1.5 Minutes

Age Requirements: Boxers born in 2008, 2009 and 2010

It is a condition of entry that all competitors and officials have a signed Waiver/Members Acknowledgement Form. Anti-Doping may be carried out at any stage of the championships and all boxers must advise the doctor of any medication they are taking or have taken in the preceding 4 weeks. It is imperative that all boxers adhere to the Anti-Doping Rules