Draws: 2022 European Junior Championships

The draws have taken place for the 2022 European Junior Championships, which will be contested by 24 Team Ireland boxers.

5 Irish boxers are in action on Day One – light bantam John Harty opens his account against Azerbaijan’s Ibrahim Zeynalov in Bout 5 in Ring B; welterweight Tadhg O’Donnell takes on Mahmoud Karnaba of Cyprus in Bout 11 of the same ring and session.

In the opening day’s evening session, Bantam Anthony James Kelly boxes Scotland’s Nathan Lundie. That’s bout 3. In bout 7, Team Ireland middleweight, Dylan Dunlop contests against home boxer, Guiseppe Cirillo. At heavyweight, Adam Olaniyan boxes England’s John-Joe McCormack in bout 11.

Watch live:

Day One, session one, Ring A: here

Day One, session two, Ring B: here

Day One, session three, Ring A: here

Day One, session four, Ring B: here

Several Team Ireland boxers have byes to the next round of the preliminaries, including 57kg Callum Carragher, 60kg Ryan Jenkins, 63kg Cillian Reilly, 70kg Charlie Valbergs, 50kg Grace Conway and 66kg Sarah Murphy.

75kg Mary McDonagh is already assured of at least a bronze medal – she begins her competition at the semi-final stage.

Team Ireland Squad

The team captains are Cherry Orchard’s Charlie Valabergs and Dublin Docklands’ Ava Henry.

Male Boxers:

1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)

2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)

3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)

4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)

5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)

6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)

7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)

8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)

9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)

10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain,

11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)

12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)

13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)

2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)

3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)

4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)

5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)

6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,

7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)

8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)

9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)

10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)

11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


1. Ralph McKay

2. Liam Cunningham

3. Paul O’Toole

4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed

Complete draw, all weights:

Competition Schedule: