Regan Buckley and Michael Nevin will be aiming for places in the light fly and middle semi-finals and at least bronze in the last eight of the European Games in Minsk today.

The Bray and Laois pair meet Spain and Turkey with guaranteed podium finishes up for grabs at the 2nd edition of the Games.

James McGivern and Aoife O’Rourke are also between the ropes in the last 16 of the 44-nation tournament this afternoon.

Approximate times (Irish times) below.

McGivern (1pm)
O’Rourke (4.45pm)
Buckley (5pm)
Nevin (5.45pm)

Ireland has won eight of eleven bouts so far in Minsk.

Please click here for today’s program.

European Games 2019 Minsk, Belarus

June 25

Last 16

64kg James McGivern (Ireland) v Hovhannes Bachkov (Armenia)
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Ireland) v Viktoryia Kebikova (Belarus)


49kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) V Martin Molina (Spain)
75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) v Guler Serhat (Turkey)

June 26


56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) v Samuel Kistohurry (France)
57kg Michaela Walsh (Ireland) v Ornella Warner (Germany)
60kg Kellie Harrington (Ireland) v Irma Testa (Italy)
69kg Grainne Walsh (Ireland) v Elina Gustafsson (Finland)

Results so far

June 22

Last 32

69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) beat Goce Janeski (Northern Macedonia) 5-0
75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Mark Dickinson (Team GB) 3-2

June 23

Last 16

49kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) beat Bator Sagalvev (Russia) 5-0
75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Kamran Shakhsuvarly (Azerbaijan) 5-0
91kg Anthony Browne (Ireland) lost to Toni Filipi (Croatia) 1-4

Last 32

64kg James McGivern (Ireland) beat Michael Takacs (Slovakia) 5-0

June 24

Last 16

56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) beat Zhirayr Saeqsyan (Armenia) 4-1
57kg Michaela Walsh (Ireland) beat Lenuta Perijoc (Romania) 4-1
69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) lost to Yauheni Dauhaliavets (Belarus) 4-1
69kg Grainne Walsh (Ireland) beat Rosie Eccles (Team GB) 4-1
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Ireland) lost to Mikheil Bakhtidze (Georgia) 1-4

Irish squad


57kg Michaela Walsh (Monsktown A)

60kg Kellie Harrington (St Marys)

69kg Gráinne Walsh (Spartacus)

75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea)


49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)

56kg Kurt Walker (Canal)

64kg James McGivern (St George’s)

69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)

75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)

91kg Tony Browne (St Michael’s Dublin)

91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

Team manager: Bernard Dunne

Coaches: Zaur Antia, John Conlan, Dmitry Dimitruk