Irish squad


Irish female captain Leanne Murphy, Rachael Lawless, Niamh Faye and John O’Connell will be between the ropes on Day 1 of the European Junior Championships in Anapa, Russia this afternoon.

Breada Quilligan, Lisa O’Rourke and Kori Goad received byes into the last-four in Anapa.

Boxing begins at 4pm (Irish time) today in a change from the previously published schedule by organisers.

The full draw will be available shortly.

European Junior Championships Anapa, Russia (October 8/17)

October 9

Last 16

50kg Rachel Lawless (Ireland) v Elaine Ayari (Italy)
52kg Niamh Faye (Ireland) v Nikolina Boke (Latvia)
63kg Leanne Murphy (Ireland) v Andreea Marin (Romania)

Last 32

52kg John McConnell (Ireland) v Matvejs Prokudins (Latvia)

Irish squad


46kg Michael Donohue (St Michaels Athy)
48kg Michael Maughan (Olympic
50kg Shane O’Brien (Raging Bull)
52kg John McConnell (Holy Trinity)
54kg Patrick Sweeney (Olympic)
57kg Barry O’Connor (Sliabh Luachra)
60kg Steven Cairns (Legacy)
63kg Taylor Quiney (Drimnagh)
66kg William Hayden (Crumlin)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis)
75kg Jason Myers (Olympic)
80kg Patrick Myers (Sligo City)
80+kg Bonvie Ndefi (Olympic Mullingar)


46kg Breda Quilligan (Rathkeale)
48kg Chloe Gabriel (Mulhuddart)
50kg Rachel Lawless (Portlaoise)
52kg Niamh Fay (Swords)
54kg Ellie Mai Gartland (Clonmel)
57kg Lauren Dempsey (Ryston)
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan)
63kg Leanne Murphy (Togher)
66kg Leah Gallen (Raphoe)
70kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea)
75kg Kaitlyn Doyle (St Brigids Kildare)
80kg Bethany Doocey (Castlebar)
80+kg Kori Goad (Cahen Vale) (TBC)

Team Managers
Anna Moore (St Francis)
Joe Hennigan (Connacht Council)

Billy McClean (High Performance)
Eve Carr (Enniskerry)
Liam Cunningham (Saints)
James Doyle (Monkstown Dublin)
Brian Barry (Riverstown)
Martin Donovan (Our Lady of Lourdes)

Michael Gill (Ballymore/Hollywood