European Youth Championship Finals: Four Team Ireland Boxers In Action.

Four Team Ireland boxers contest the European Youth Championship finals in Sofia, Buglaria, today.

Afternoon Session, beginning at 10am Irish timewatch here

Bout 12: 70kg Laura Moran V Veronika Nakota of Ukraine

Bout 13: 81kg Dearbhla Tinnelly V Karine Airpapetian of Ukraine.

Evening Session, beginning at 3pm, Irish timewatch here

Bout 6: 71kg Bobbi Flood V Gabriele Rontani Guidi of Italy.

Bout 12: 81kg+, Cliona D’Arcy V Polina Cherenko of Ukraine.

Four Irish boxers will come home with bronze medals – 48kg Patsy Joyce and Georgia Dunn McGovern, 50kg Katie O’Keefe and 63kg Winnie McDonagh.

The total medal haul, of 8, is the highest number of medals any Irish team has won at and EUBC youth tournament.

This year’s edition, hosted by the Bulgarian Boxing Federation in Sofia, is being contested by 400 boxers from 40 nations.

Team Ireland Squad:
48kg: Georgia McGovern, Setanta : Bronze Medallist              

48kg: Patsy Joyce, Olympic: Bronze Medallist                          

50kg: Katie O’Keefe, Kanturk : Bronze Medallist                  

51kg: Adam McKenna, Holy Family          

52kg: Esther Lambe, Setanta

54kg: Shakira Donoghue, Templemore 

54kg: Gavin Ryan, Ratoath                        

57kg: Yasmin Meredith, Corinthians: Team Captain        

57kg: John Donoghue, St Michaels Athy

60kg: Jason Nevin, Olympic

63kg: Winnie McDonagh, Neilstown : Bronze Medallist               

63.5kg: Tom McDonnell, Docklands                             

66kg: Gabrielle Mongan, Whitechurch          

67kg: Jim Donovan, Our Lady of Lourdes

70kg: Laura Moran, St Annes: Finalist  

71kg: Bobbi Flood, Cabra: Team Captain: Finalist                                

75kg: Emma Keating, Paulstown                            

75kg: Joshua Olaniyan, Jobstown                             

80kg: Ryan Murphy, Neilstown                             

81kg: Dearbhla Tinnelly, Clann Naofa: Finalist       

81+kg: Cliona Darcy, Tobar Pheadair: Finalist     

86kg: Nathan Ojo, Esker

92kg: David J McDonagh, Olympic               

92+kg: Bernie Cawley, St David’s, Naas

Team Manager:          

Anna Moore 


James Doyle 

Liam Cunningham 

Aoife Hennigan 

Gerard McDaid 

Jim O’Neill

R & J:                          

Martin O’Neill 

Tournament Schedule

Draw sheets for all Team Ireland boxers are available here

Day One Session results are here

Day Two Session results are here

Day Three Session results are here

Day Four Session results are here

Day Five Session results are here

Day Six Session results are here