Kellie Harrington has topped the podium at the European Shadowboxing Challenge.

The Dublin lightweight and 2018 World Elite lightweight champion was yesterday crowned the best Women’s Elite athlete at the inaugural event.

Sweden’s Agnes Alexiusson and Croatia’s and Austria’s Sara-kos-Beram and Deshire Kurtaj finished in second the third places.

The organisers received hundreds of entries for the Challange from Ireland. Belgium, Netherlands, Greece, Finland, Lithuania, Hungary, Slovakia, Russia and Ukraine.

Boxers were asked to post of online video of themselves and their entries were judged by Presidents of the Spanish and Dutch Boxing Federations, Felipe Martinez and Boris Van der Vorst and top European boxing journalist Tibor Kincses.

The decisions of the jury were based on the attacking and defensive technique of the boxers, speed, the number of the punches, intensity, combinations, and the full impression of the video.

The three-man jury watched hundreds of videos in the recent days to decide the winners in five different categories: U/15 , junior/youth, women’s elite, men’s elite and veterans.

“Congratulations to Kellie on her award, it’s a unique achievement, especially against some very talented and technical boxers. Congratulations also to the Irish boxers that entered a unique competition, “ said Dom O’Rourke, President of the Irish Athletic Boxing Association.


European Shadboxing Challange 2020

Kids (U15 years)

Gold – Vseslav Stepanov, Russia (11)
Silver – Kristian Harasnik, Slovakia (11)
Bronze – Sara Sanchez, Spain (10)
Bronze – Enis Aliu, North Macedonia (14)

Junior and Youth (15-18 years)

Gold – Zsolt Zuro, Hungary
Silver – Sven Cuppen, Netherlands
Bronze – Luna Maria Mairena Aragon, Spain
Bronze – Luna Beeloo, Netherlands

Women’s Elite 

Gold – Kellie Harrington, Ireland
Silver – Agnes Alexiusson, Sweden
Bronze – Sara Kos-Beram, Croatia
Bronze – Deshire Kurtaj, Austria

Men’s Elite 

Gold – Roland Galos, Hungary
Silver – Imam Khataev, Russia
Bronze – Aleksandar Mraovic, Austria
Bronze – Marcel Meinl, Austria

Veterans (+40 years old)

Gold – Ivan Filipov, Russia
Silver – Darius Katkevicius, Lithuania
Bronze – Laszlo Kallo, Hungary
Bronze – A. Mutaev, Russia (Dzhamal Badrutdinov’s coach)