Team Ireland recorded five wins out of six on Day 3 of the European Junior Championships in Galati, Romania.

Irish male captain Eoghan Lavin, Michael Donoghue, with his second win this week, Dylan Eagleson, Michael McCarthy and Taylor Guiney had their hands raised in victory.

Donagh Keary bowed out on points following a close three-rounder with Azeri flyweight Asad Aghayev in the flyweight class.

Rebel County southpaw McCarthy was involved in a real toe-to-toe battle with Georgia’s Giorgi Zhorzhaliani.

The Cork lightweight was down in the first round but showed his character to get off the floor – the accuracy of his hooks impressed in all three rounds – and turn the bout around.

Guiney brought the curtain down on another busy day for Ireland with a points win over Andrei Mustet.

Big performance from the Irish champion, who, like Donoghue, won on the opening day of the Championships on Friday.

Team Ireland has won 14 of their 22 bouts so far in Galati.

Meantime, it’s medals time.

Eight Irish boxers are in action tomorrow in the quarter-finals of the tournament just one win each away from at least bronze.

Images courtesy of Tibor Kinsces and Tara Robins Mari.

European Male and Female Junior Championships Galati, Romania, May 22/June 2

May 26

Last 16

46kg Dylan Eagleson (Ireland) beat Rafael Lozano (Spain) 5-0
48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) beat James Sweeney (Scotland) 5-0
52kg Donagh Keary (Ireland) lost to Asad Aghayev (Azerbaijan) 0-5
60kg Michael McCarthy (Ireland) beat Giorgi Zhorzhaliani (Georgia) 3-2
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) beat Andrei Mustet (Turkey) 5-0
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ireland) beat Alperen Terzi (Turkey) 4-1

May 25

Last 16

52kg Rachael Lawless (Ireland) lost to Sophia Mazzoni (Italy) 0-5
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Ireland) beat Ellie Taylor (Wales) 5-0
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) beat Ares Hakoyban (Armenia) 4-0
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Ireland) beat Ceren Tuncer (Turkey) 5-0
75kg Mark Duffy (Ireland) beat Lucian Miltitelu (Romania) 5-0

Last 32

54kg Mustafa Edris (Ireland) lost to Royston Smith-Barney (England) 1-4

May 24

Prelims Last 16/32

1st session

48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) beat Zoltan Cservak (Hungary) 5-0
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) beat Iryna Melnyk (Ukraine) 5-0
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) beat Orhan Mehmet (Turkey) 5-0
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) beat Petra Kovacs (Hungary) 5-0
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Ireland) lost to Dzmitry Barysav (Belarus) 1-4

2nd session

50kg Jason Nevin (Ireland) lost to Saba Tkebuchave (Georgia) 1-4
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) beat Kevin Bohm (Sweden) 5-0
60kg Shelby Myres (Ireland) lost to Maryna Muliarchk (Belarus) 2-3
63kg Thomas King (Ireland) lost to Niv Rahamin (Israel) 1-4
80kg James Ward (Ireland) lost to Jack Turnbull (England) 2-3

May 27


48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) v Gamze Soguksu (Turkey)
48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) v Said Abdullayev (Azerbaijan)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Ireland) v Lia Pukkila (Finland)
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) v Matvei Starikov (Estonia)
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Ireland) v Cristina Ciobanu (Romania)
70kg Shauna Doherty (Ireland) v Melania Moldovan (Romania)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ireland) v Mikhail Usov (Russia)
80kg Margaret Stokes (Ireland) v Natalia Hodyk (Ukraine)

May 28


46kg Breda Quilligan (Ireland) Romania or Hungary
46kg Dylan Eagleson (Ireland) v Timur Khalilov (Russia)
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Ireland) v Veronika Zajicova (Czech Republic)
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Ireland) v Antoneia Alecu (Romania)
60kg Michael McCarthy (Ireland) v Magomed Mamaev (Russia)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) v Radmyla Rodinova (Ukraine)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Ireland) v Nur Kocaoglu (Turkey)
75kg Mark Duffy (Ireland) v Vinny Huczmann (England)

Irish squad


46kg Breda Quilligan (Rathkeale)
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ballynacargy)
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Mulhuddart)
52kg Rachael Lawless (Portlaoise) Cpt
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Monivea)
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Corinthians)
60kg Shelby Myres (Crumlin)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Neilstown)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Arklow)
70kg Shauna Doherty (Sacred Heart, Dublin)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Clann Naofa)
80kg Margaret Stokes (Callan)


46kg Dylan Eagleson (St Pauls, Antrim)
48kg Michael Donoghue (St Michaels Athy)
50kg Jason Nevin (Olympic Mullingar)
52kg Donagh Keary (Rathfriland)
54kg Mustafa Edris (Monkstown, Dublin)
57kg Martin McCullough (Gleann)
60kg Michael McCarthy (Mayfield)
63kg Thomas King (Ratoath)
66kg Taylor Guiney (Drimngh)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis) Cpt
75kg Mark Duffy (Charlestown)
80kg John Ward (Brosna)
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Docklands)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team managers: Eugene O’Kane Snr and Anne Murphy
Coaches: Billy McClean, James Doyle, Gerard McDaid, John Gallagher, Aoife Hennigan
R&J: Loughlin Gannon