ireland woking

Team Ireland, pictured above, beat a talented England Southern Counties squad away from home last night.

The visitors emerged 6-4, with current Irish Elite champion Martin Keenan, Peter Carr, Thomas O’Toole, Rhys Moran, Caoimhin Agyarko-Hynes and Frankie Cleary winning in Woking.

Keenan and Moran earned unanimous decisions and Moran a split on the outskirts of London.

Carr, pictured below, celebrated a double after his cracking encounter with Alfie Williams ended on a split verdict to the Irishman – the contest won the Bout of the Night Award.

Caoimhin Agyarko-Hynes KO’d Eugene Kingsley in the first round in a spectacular win for the Belfast middleweight.

peter carr

Cleary received a walkover after his original opponent withdrew and no replacement was identified for the Galway lightweight.

Alanna Audley-Murphy, who claimed EU bronze for Ireland in 2006 and who met Katie Taylor in the first officially sanctioned IABA women’s bout in Ireland in 2001, beat Irish light-welter Cheyanne O’Neill and Tiegan Russell lost out to Ebony Jones.

Irish coach and team manager John Paul Kinsella and Philip Roche lauded the performances of the Irish squad which also included Tommy Casey, Tiegan Russell, Cheyanne O’Neill and Cian O’Shaughnessy.

Team Ireland are due to arrive home at 6.45pm this evening via Dublin Airport (Flight EI173).

Ireland v England Southern Counties Woking


February 24th

56kg Tommy Casey lost to Sammy Khan 1-2

60kg Frankie Cleary  W/O

69kg Peter Carr  beat  Alfie Winters 2-1

54kg Tiegan Russell  lost to Ebony Jones 0-3

75kg Rhys Moran  beat  Liam Forest 2-1

91kg Martin Keenan  beat Tom Welsh 3-0

72kg Thomas O’Toole  beat Ben Hall 3-0

64kg Cheyanne O’Neill  lost to Alanna Audley-Murphy 0-3

75kg Caoimhin Agyarko-Hynes  beat Eugene Kingsley KO1

91+kg Cian O’Shaughnessy lost to James Bauer 0-3


Irish squad


56kg Thomas Casey (St Francis)

57kg Tiegan Russell (Fr Horgans)

60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina)

64kg Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)

69kg Peter Carr (Crumlin)

71kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles)

75kg Rhys Moran (St Pauls)

75kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity)

91kg+ Martin Keenan (Rathkeale)

91kg+ Cian O’Shaughnessy (Rathkeale)


Team manager/coach: John Paul Kinsella (Monkstown)

Coach: Philip Roche (Avona)

R&J: Edward Cummins