Team Ireland arrived home from the EU Men’s Elite Championships in Valladolid, Spain via Dublin Airport today.

Kurt Walker claimed bantamweight gold at the tournament and Kieran Molloy brought home bronze.

Walker beat England’s current European Elite champion Peter McGrail in the 56kg final on a split decision in a repeat of this year’s Commonwealth Games final which the Liverpool southpaw won.

“I’m absolutely buzzing, couldn’t of done it without my coaches John and Eoin and my coaches back home. The tactics I was given were 100 percent,” said Walker after his victory.

Ireland were using a 7-strong squad in Spain. Stephen Molloy was Irish team manager and John Conlan and Eoin Pluck worked Ireland’s corner.

Irish boxing has won almost 50 medals at this level over the last 15 years.18 of the medals claimed are gold.


2003 Strasburg

64kg Paul McCloskey Silver
81kg Ken Egan Silver
54kg Brian Gillen Bronze
60kg Andy Murray Bronze
91kg Alan Reynolds Bronze

2004 Spain

75kg Andy Lee Silver

2005 Cagliari

81kg Ken Egan Gold
69kg Karl Brabazon Bronze
75kg Eamonn O’Kane Bronze

2006 Italy

63kg Alanna Murphy Bronze

2007 National Stadium Dublin

69kg Roy Sheahan Gold
75kg Darren Sutherland Gold
81kg Ken Egan Gold
57kg Carl Frampton Silver
91kg Cathal McMonagle Silver2008 Liverpool
60kg Katie Taylor Gold
50kg Debbie Rogers Bronze

2008 Poland

56kg John Joe Nevin Gold
57kg David Oliver Joyce Gold
81kg Ken Egan Gold
49kg Paddy Barnes Silver
91kg Con Sheehan Silver

2009 Bulgaria

60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2009 Denmark

57kg David Oliver Joyce Gold
75kg Darren O’Neill Gold
91kg Con Sheehan Gold
52kg Declan Geraghty Silver
54kg John Joe Nevin Silver
69kg William McLaughlin Silver
60kg Eric Donovan Bronze
64kg Philip Sutcliffe Bronze
81kg Ken Egan Bronze

2010 Hungary

60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2011 Poland

60kg Katie Taylor Gold
69kg Louise Traynor Bronze
81kg Laura O’Neill Bronze

2013 Hungary

60kg Katie Taylor Gold
69kg Claire Grace Bronze

2014 Bulgaria

60kg David Oliver Joyce Gold
81kg Darren O’Neill Silver
75kg Michael O’Reilly Silver
52kg Hughie Myers Bronze

2017 Italy

54kg Michaela Walsh Gold
60kg Kellie Harrington Silver
69kg Grainne Walsh Bronze

2018 Spain

56kg Kurt Walker Gold
69kg Kieran Molloy Bronze