Irish boxing has won 46 medals at the European Union Men’s and Women’s Championships since the inaugural tournament in Strasburg in 2003.

The final count is 18 gold, 12 silver and 16 bronze medals.

Ireland failed to claim a title in France 17 years ago, with Paul McCloskey and Ken Egan taking home double silver from the 1st edition of the competition.

But Egan hit the jackpot two years later in Cagliari in the first of three EU gold medals for the Dublin southpaw. David Oliver Joyce also secured three EU gold medals.

Joyce, Egan and Katie Taylor, who won five gold, claimed eleven of Ireland’s 18 titles at this level.

Roy Sheahan, Darren Sutherland, John Joe Nevin, Darren O’Neill, Con Sheehan, Michaela Walsh and Kurt Walker also took home gold from the European Union Championships.

The nine-strong 2009 EU Men’s team secured 3 gold, 3 silver and 3 bronze and the Best Team award and topped the medals table.

The 2007 edition of the tournament was hosted at the National Stadium, with Ireland winning three gold and two silver at the home of Irish boxing.

Walker beat England’s Peter McGrail in the 2018 bantamweight final in Valladolid, Spain.


2003 Strasburg, France
64kg Paul McCloskey Silver
81kg Ken Egan Silver
54kg Brian Gillen Bronze
60kg Andy Murray Bronze
91kg Alan Reynolds Bronze

2004 Madrid, Spain
75kg Andy Lee Silver

2005 Cagliari, Italy
81kg Ken Egan Gold
69kg Karl Brabazon Bronze
75kg Eamonn O’Kane Bronze

2006 Porto Torres, Italy
63kg Alanna Murphy Bronze

2008 Liverpool, England
60kg Katie Taylor Gold
50kg Debbie Rogers Bronze

2007 National Stadium Dublin
69kg Roy Sheahan Gold
75kg Darren Sutherland Gold
81kg Ken Egan Gold
57kg Carl Frampton Silver
91kg Cathal McMonagle Silver

2008 Cetniewo, Poland
56kg John Joe Nevin Gold
57kg David Oliver Joyce Gold
81kg Ken Egan Gold
49kg Paddy Barnes Silver
91kg Con Sheehan Silver

2009 Pazardzhik, Bulgaria
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2009 Odense, Denmark

57kg David Oliver Joyce Gold
75kg Darren O’Neill Gold
91kg Con Sheehan Gold
52kg Declan Geraghty Silver
54kg John Joe Nevin Silver
69kg William McLaughlin Silver
60kg Eric Donovan Bronze
64kg Philip Sutcliffe Bronze
81kg Ken Egan Bronze

2010 Keszthely, Hungary
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2011 Katowice, Poland
60kg Katie Taylor Gold
69kg Louise Traynor Bronze
81kg Laura O’Neill Bronze

2013 Keszthely, Hungary
60kg Katie Taylor Gold
69kg Claire Grace Bronze

2014 Sofia, Bulgaria
60kg David Oliver Joyce Gold
81kg Darren O’Neill Silver
75kg Michael O’Reilly Silver
52kg Hughie Myers Bronze

2017 Cascia, Italy
54kg Michaela Walsh Gold
60kg Kellie Harrington Silver
69kg Grainne Walsh Bronze

2018 Valladolid, Spain
56kg Kurt Walker Gold
69kg Kieran Molloy Bronze