Irish boxing deposited another five medals in its account to improve to at least nine bronze at the European Junior Championships in Romania.

Marie Marine-Gabriel, Aaliyah Butler, Tiegan Farrell, Tiegan Farrell and Taylor Guiney had their hands raised in victory in their quarter-finals this afternoon and early evening.

Marine-Gabriel showed her class versus Veronika Zajicova of the Czech Republic and the equally impressive Butler silenced the home fans versus Antoneia Alecu.

Farrell decisioned Radmyla Rodinova of the Ukraine in a close 66kg clash to ensure that she’ll be standing on the medals podium this weekend.

But Breda Quilligan and and Mark Duffy lost out in close bouts to Hungary and England. Big performances from both Irish teens, while Dylan Eagleson was desperately unlucky to go out to Russia’s Timur Khalilov. All of the 13-strong Russian male squad are through to the last four.

The Antrim southpaw, scoring almost exclusively with his backhand, won the first and third rounds of a livey 46kg encounter on the unofficial scorecards but the talented Khalilov was awarded a 3-2 split decision.

Cork lightweight Michael McCarthy and Magomed Mamaev went toe-to-toe in a tight three-rounder but the Russian got the nod to advance to the last four.

Duffy was in against Vinny Huczmann and on another day his long reach and accurate backhand might have taken the verdict but the judges went with the English middle.

Guiney and Farrell finished off the day on a high note for Ireland with victories over Armenia’s Narek Zakharyan and Turkey’s Nur Kocaoglu.

Wednesday is a rest day at the tournament. The female semi-finals will be decided on Thursday followed by the male semi-finals on Friday.

Click here for Thursday’s female semi-finals.

Images courtesy of Tibor Kinsces and Tara Robins Mari


European Male and Female Junior Championships Galati, Romania, May 22/June 2

May 28


46kg Breda Quilligan (Ireland) lost to Fanni Kovacs (Hungary) 0-5
46kg Dylan Eagleson (Ireland) lost to Timur Khalilov (Russia) 2-3
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Ireland) beat Veronika Zajicova (Czech Republic) 5-0
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Ireland) beat Antoneia Alecu (Romania) 5-0
60kg Michael McCarthy (Ireland) lost to Magomed Mamaev (Russia) 0-5
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) beat Radmyla Rodinova (Ukraine) 3-2
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) beat Narek Zakharyan (Armenia) 5-0
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Ireland) beat Nur Kocaoglu (Turkey) 4-1
75kg Mark Duffy (Ireland) lost to Vinny Huczmann (England) 0-5

May 27


48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) beat Gamze Soguksu (Turkey) 5-0
48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) beat Said Abdullayev (Azerbaijan) 5-0
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Ireland) beat Lia Pukkila (Finland) 5-0
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) beat Matvei Starikov (Estonia) 5-0
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Ireland) lost to Cristina Ciobanu (Romania) 1-4
70kg Shauna Doherty (Ireland) lost to Melania Moldovan (Romania) 2-3
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ireland) lost to Mikhail Usov (Russia) 0-5
80kg Margaret Stokes (Ireland) lost to Natalia Hodyk (Ukraine) 1-4

May 26

Last 16

46kg Dylan Eagleson (Ireland) beat Rafael Lozano (Spain) 5-0
48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) beat James Sweeney (Scotland) 5-0
52kg Donagh Keary (Ireland) lost to Asad Aghayev (Azerbaijan) 0-5
60kg Michael McCarthy (Ireland) beat Giorgi Zhorzhaliani (Georgia) 3-2
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) beat Andrei Mustet (Turkey) 5-0
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ireland) beat Alperen Terzi (Turkey) 4-1

May 25

Last 16

52kg Rachael Lawless (Ireland) lost to Sophia Mazzoni (Italy) 0-5
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Ireland) beat Ellie Taylor (Wales) 5-0
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) beat Ares Hakoyban (Armenia) 4-0
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Ireland) beat Ceren Tuncer (Turkey) 5-0
75kg Mark Duffy (Ireland) beat Lucian Miltitelu (Romania) 5-0

Last 32

54kg Mustafa Edris (Ireland) lost to Royston Smith-Barney (England) 1-4

May 24

Prelims Last 16/32

1st session

48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) beat Zoltan Cservak (Hungary) 5-0
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) beat Iryna Melnyk (Ukraine) 5-0
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) beat Orhan Mehmet (Turkey) 5-0
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) beat Petra Kovacs (Hungary) 5-0
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Ireland) lost to Dzmitry Barysav (Belarus) 1-4
50kg Jason Nevin (Ireland) lost to Saba Tkebuchave (Georgia) 1-4
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) beat Kevin Bohm (Sweden) 5-0
60kg Shelby Myres (Ireland) lost to Maryna Muliarchk (Belarus) 2-3
63kg Thomas King (Ireland) lost to Niv Rahamin (Israel) 1-4
80kg James Ward (Ireland) lost to Jack Turnbull (England) 2-3

May 30


48kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) v Anastasia Kirienko (Russia)
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Ireland) v Elen Ayari (Italy)
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Ireland) v Liana Tarasian (Russia)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Ireland) v Ani Manukyan (Germany)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Ireland) v Natalia Zavialova (Russia)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Ireland) v Valeriia Vorontsova (Russia)

May 31


48kg Michael Donoghue (Ireland) v Boris Eroshkin (Russia)
57kg Martin McCullough (Ireland) v Ivan Kobzev (Russia)
66kg Taylor Guiney (Ireland) v Belarus or Russia

Irish squad


46kg Breda Quilligan (Rathkeale)
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ballynacargy) (Bronze, at least)
50kg Marie Marine-Gabriel (Mulhuddart) (Bronze, at least)
52kg Rachael Lawless (Portlaoise) Cpt
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Monivea) (Bronze, at least)
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Corinthians)
60kg Shelby Myres (Crumlin)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Neilstown) (Bronze, at least)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Arklow) (Bronze, at least)
70kg Shauna Doherty (Sacred Heart, Dublin)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Clann Naofa)
80kg Margaret Stokes (Callan)


46kg Dylan Eagleson (St Pauls, Antrim)
48kg Michael Donoghue (St Michaels Athy) (Bronze, at least)
50kg Jason Nevin (Olympic Mullingar)
52kg Donagh Keary (Rathfriland)
54kg Mustafa Edris (Monkstown, Dublin)
57kg Martin McCullough (Gleann) (Bronze, at least)
60kg Michael McCarthy (Mayfield)
63kg Thomas King (Ratoath)
66kg Taylor Guiney (Drimngh)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis) Cpt
75kg Mark Duffy (Charlestown)
80kg John Ward (Brosna)
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Docklands)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team managers: Eugene O’Kane Snr and Anne Murphy
Coaches: Billy McClean, James Doyle, Gerard McDaid, John Gallagher, Aoife Hennigan
R&J: Loughlin Gannon