An-eight strong Irish male squad has been confirmed to the Brandenburg Youth tournament in Germany.

Please click here for tournament invitation and details.

The tournament begins in Frankfurt/Oder on July 3.

Irish boxing has medalled at the prestigious Youth multi-nations in the past.

Current European Elite champion Joe Ward, Ryan Lindberg, Chris Blaney, Joe Fitzpatrick, Bernard O’Reilly, Michael O’Reilly (gold), Chirs Nevin, Hughie Nevin, Shane Flavin and Frankie Cleary (gold) have finished in podium positions by the banks of the Oder, located on the German/Polish border.

Irish amatuer boxing is proudly sponsored by Liffey Crane.

Brandenburg Youth Cup Frankfurt/Oder Germany July 3/8Irish squad

49kg Adam Hession (Monivea)
52kg Owen McDonagh (Leeside Lough)
56kg John Paul Hale (Star)
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)
64kg Pearce O’Leary (Dublinc Docklands)
69kg Christian Preston (Dublin Docklands)
81kg Jack Lawlor (Thurles)
91kg Ownie McDonagh (St Annes)
91kg+ TBC

Team Manager: Gerry O’Mahony (Dungarvan)
Coaches: Phil Sutcliffe (Crumlin) & Stephen Friel (ILlies GG)
R&J: P McEvoy (Avona)