A 32-strong Irish squad has been confirmed for next month’s European Schoolboy/girl Championships in Georgia.

The 17th edition of the tournament officially begins on August 2 in Tbilisi. Boxing starts on August 4.

Ireland will train at the Clann Naofa BC in Dundalk in the lead up to Georgia.

Irish boxing has medaled at every edition of the European Schoolboy Championships – which doubled up as a Schooboy/girl competition last year – since the inaugural version at Rome 2003.

Some of the star names of Ireland’s most succesful Olympic sport have finished in podium positions at this level, including Olympians Joe Ward, David Oliver Joyce and John Joe Joyce and former IBF/WBA champion Carl Frampton.

101 medals – 17 gold, 25 silver and 59 bronze – have been secured by the Boys and Girls in Green against the Continent’s finest over the last 16 years.

Please see below attachment for a complete information pack for Tbilisi.




2019 European Schoolboy/girl Championships Tbilisi, Georgia (August 2/12)


Irish squad


38.5kg Kai Ducque Griffin (Drimnagh)
40kg Roy Farrelly Colgan (Avona)
41.5kg Sean Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
43kg Kyle Thomas Smith (Holy Trinity)
44.5kg Malo Kemel Fekkar Davis (Monkstown Dublin)
46kg Blaine Fitzgerald (Corinthians)
48kg Padraig Flynn Stapleton (Monkstown Dublin)
50kg James O’Reilly Thornhill (Togher)
52kg Lee McEvoy (Avona)
54kg Cole Byrne (Enniskerry)
56kg Laurence Connors (St Mary’s Dublin)
59kg Patrick Stokes (St Johns Derry)
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Urlingford)
68kg Thomas Ward (Carrickmore)
72kg Ryan Collins Murphy (Neilstown)
76kg Caolan Devlin (Mark Heagney)
80kg Bernard Cawley (St Davids Naas)
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)
90-105kg Danny O’Brien (Shadows)


34-36kg Carlagh Mullarney (Ballyhaunis)
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (St Anthony’s Pats)
40kg Shakira McCrudden (Riverside)
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Kanturk)
44kg Esther Lambe (Setanta)
46kg Carleigh Irving (Illies Golden Gloves)
48kg Nora Jackman (Paulstown)
51kg Georgia Dunne McGovern (Drimnagh)
54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic Mullingar)
57kg Alicia King (Ratoath Golden Gloves)
60kg Gabrielle Mongan (Whitechurch)
64kg Ava Rose Henry Lyndon (Glin)
70kg Breanna Ryan Tobin (Spartan)


IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke (St Michaels Athy)

Team Managers: Stephen Connolly (Curragh) & Jennifer O’Sullivan (Sliabh Luachra)

Coaches: Eve Carr (St Michaels Athy),Patrick Gallagher (Maynooth), James O’Neill (Clann Naofa),Martin Donovan (O.L.O.L.),Killian Walsh (Dungarvan), Paul Archbold (St Davids Naas)

Referee/Judge: Martin O’Neill (St Saviours OBA)