Galway welterweight Kieran Molloy and Dublin heavyweight Kiril Afanasev joined Antrim bantam Kurt Walker in the last eight of the European Union Elite Men’s Championships in Valladolid, Spain this afternoon.

Molloy, in dominant mode, forced Belgium’s Ruben Veciunoa into a standing count in the second round en route to a unanimous decision.

The Irish champions earned two 30-25 scores.

Afanasev impressed with body shots in all three frames versus tough Slovak David Michalek on his way to a 4-1 split verdict on an afternoon Ireland recorded two wins from two.

“It was a good day getting the two lads through today,” said Irish team manager Stephen Molloy.

Wayne Kelly is in action tomorrow against Petr Novak of the Czech Republic.

Images: Molloy and Afanasev celebrate victory today.


EU Elite Championships Valladolid, Spain

November 10

Prelims (last 16)

69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) beat Ruben Veciunoa (Belgium) 5-0
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) beat David Michalek (Slovakia) 4-1

November 9

Prelims (Last 16)

52kg Conor Quinn (Ireland) lost to Rosenov Banbakov (Bulgaria) 1-4
56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) beat Stefan Ivanov (Bulgaria) 5-0
91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Ireland) lost to Frazer Clarke (England) 1-4

November 11th

Prelims (last 16)

64kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) v Petr Novak (Czech Republic)

November 12

Prelims (last 16)

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) v Stephan Nikitin (Germany)

November 13


69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) v Vincenzo Arecchiai (Italy)

November 14


91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) v Toni Filipi (Croatia)

November 15


56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) v Jaroslav Iwanow (Poland)

Irish squad

52kg Conor Quinn (Clonard BC)

56kg Kurt Walker (Canal BC)

64kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise BC)

69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard BC)

75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise BC)

91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield BC)

91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Clonmel BC) Cpt

Team Manager: Stephen Molloy

Coaches: John Conlan & Eoin Pluck

Physiotherapist: Seamus Caffrey

Team Doctor: Jim Clover- Team Doctor

Sports Physiologist: Damian Martin

Referee & Judge: Jim Murrin- R&J