Cork light heavy Tommy Hyde, pictured, was delighted to get his first win at the National Senior Championships under his belt in Dublin last weekend.

The Mayfield BC man, who claimed gold and the Best Boxer Award at the Celtic Box Cup in Dungarvan earlier this year, beat Philip Hickey on unanimous decision last Friday to set up this Friday’s decider with Marble City BC stand out Kevin Kehoe.

Hyde is a relative of Leeside boxing legend Tommy “The Prince” Hyde who, boxing for the Sunnyside BC, won an Irish Elite belt at the National Stadium in 1946.

Seventy two years later his namesake is aiming for his third Irish title at the same venue.

”I’m happy with the performance.It’s always nice to get past the first fight.Great to be back fighting in the All Ireland’s again. I can’t wait for the final now,” said the Leesider after winning his first national Senior contest five days ago.

“My main focus now is the Seniors which will set me up for the Elites in February.”

Kehoe impressed in his win over Davit Tsotsoria to set up what could be the bout of the night at IABA headquarters on Friday.

Galway’s Celtic Eagles BC, meantime, has three athletes through to the business end of the competition after a hat-trick of victories in the last four.

Daniel Kyne, Jason Kyne and Gytis Lisinskas had their hands raised in victory to ensure that the Tribesmen have the highest representation of any club on finals night.

Belfast’s World Youth bronze medal Caitlin Fryers, picture above in red, meets Mayo’s Kirsten Cresham for the flyweight crown in the opening bout of the evening.

Athy’s Terry Donohue advanced from last weekend’s semi-finals versus Ben Nelson and faces Adam Hession for the men’s flyweight belt .

Finals weigh-ins – 8am to 9am and 12pm to 1pm at the National Stadium.


National Senior Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday November 23

S/Finals (6.30pm)

52kg Terry Donohue (St Michaels Athy) beat Ben Nelson (Townland) 5-0
56kg Conor Kerr (Monkstown A) beat Scott O’Connor (Ryston) 3-2
56kg Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) beat Mark Corcoran (Corinthians) 5-0
60kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) beat Dominic Bradley (Errigal) 4-1
60kg Martin Noonan (Riverstown) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) RSCI1
64kg Daniel Kyne (Celtic Eagles) beat Yannick Meseke (Leos) 4-1
64kg Senan Kelly (Crumlin) beat Alex Higgins (Togher) RSCI1
69kg Jason Kyne (Celtic Eagles) beat Luke Maguire (Esker) 3-2
69kg Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.) beat Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys/Pats) 5-0
75kg Christopher Mulligan (Clann Naofa) beat Shane Dooley (Clonard L) 3-2
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) W/O
81kg Kevin Kehoe (Marble City) beat Davit Tsotsoria (Illies GG) 5-0
81kg Tommy Hyde (Mayfield) beat Philip Hickey (Paulstown) 5-0
91kg Daniel O’Brien (St Bernadettes) beat Thomas Maughan (Cavan) 4-1
91kg Martin J Mongan (Ennis) beat Marcin Skalski (Leos) 5-0
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) beat Aidan O’Neill (Paulstown) 5-0
91+kg Dean Scullion (Loughshore) beat Martin Stokes (Crumlin) 4-1

Friday November 30

Finals (7pm)

48kg Emma Feeney (Virginia) V Winner
49kg Diarmuid Toland (Holy Family GG) W/O
51kg Kirsten Cresham (Castlebar) V Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata)
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) V Terry Donohue (St Michaels Athy)
54kg Emma O’Neill (St Nicholas) V Lois Walsh (Castlebar)
56kg Conor Kerr (Monkstown A) V Sean Purcell (Enniskerry)
57kg Shauna Blaney (Navan) W/O
60kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) V Martin Noonan (Riverstown)
64kg Daniel Kyne (Celtic Eagles) V Senan Kelly (Crumlin
64kg Isobella Hughes (Mount Tallant) V Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa)
69kg Clodagh Green (Crumlin) V Winner
69kg Jason Kyne (Celtic Eagles) V Patrick Donovan (OLOL)
75kg Renee Roche (Castlebar) V Lauren Kelly (St Brigids Edenderry)
75kg Christopher Mulligan (Clann Naofa) V Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
81kg Kevin Kehoe (Marble City) V Tommy Hyde (Mayfield)
91kg Daniel O’Brien (St Bernadettes) V Martin J Mongan (Ennis)
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) V Dean Scullion (Loughshore)

November 17


75kg John McDonagh (Illies GG) beat Shane O’Brien (St Francis) 4-0
48kg Emma Feeney (Virginia) W/O
48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) beat Chloe Fleck (Lisburn) 4-1
69kg Caroline Gallagher (Illies GG) beat Karolina Jaglowska (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
69kg Jason Kyne (Celtic Eagles) beat Daniel Holahan (Kilcullen) 4-1
69kg Patrick Donovan (OLOL) beat Patrick Cullen (Ballagh) RSC2
69kg Michael Kinsella (St Anthony’s/Pats) beat Aaron Daly (Castlebar) 5-0
75kg Christopher Mulligan (Clann Naofa) beat Andrew Whitehouse Santry) 5-0
75kg Shane Dooley (Clonard L) beat Denis Ahern (Castlebar) 4-1
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) beat Paul Ryan (Mulhuddart) 5-0
81kg Davit Tsotsoria (Illies GG) beat Michael Erpelding (Holy Family GG) 4-1
81kg Kevin Keogh (Marble City) beat Michael McDonagh (Sacred Heart D) RSC2
81kg Tommy Hyde (Mayfield) W/O
81kg Philip Hickey (Paulstown) beat Edward O’Connor (Sacred Heart Dub) 3-2
91kg Daniel O’Brien (Santry) beat John Sheridan (Crumlin) AB2
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Pierre Stokes (Leos) 5-0
91kg Martin J Mongan (Ennis) beat Eamon Gilligan (Dunboyne) 5-0
91kg Marcin Skalski (Leos) beat Eamon Breen (Towland) RSC3
91+kg Martin Stokes (Crumlin) beat Patrick Rodgers (St Johns Derry) RSC3
91+kg Dean Scullion (Loughshore) beat Keith McEneaney (Dealgan) RSC3

November 16


56kg Scott O’Connor (Ryston) beat Sam Carroll (Rathnew) 5-0
56kg Conor Kerr (Monkstown A) beat Gary McDonald (Corrib) 5-0
56kg Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) beat Dean McCormick (Whitechurch) AB2
56kg Mark Corcoran (Corinthians) beat Colm Culleton (Crumlin) 5-0
60kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) beat Teo Alin (Cookestown) 5-0
60kg Dominic Bradley (Errigal) beat Paul Alexander (Crumlin) 5-0
60kg Martin Noonan (Riverstown) beat Callum McConnell (Castle Antrim) 5-0
60kg Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) beat Jordan Smith (Drogheda) 5-0
64kg Yannick Meseke (Leos) beat Aaron O’Donohue (Douglas) 5-0
64kg Daniel Kyne (Celtic Eagles) beat Jamie Long (Muskerry) 3-2
64kg Senan Kelly (Crumlin) beat Eamer Coughlan (Riverstown) RSCI1
64kg Alex Higgins (Togher) beat Malachy McDonald (Corrib) 5-0
69kg Luke Maguire (Esker) beat Seamus Lyons (Monkstown Dublin) 5-0

November 10


69kg Daniel Holohan (Kilcullen) beat Colm Coneely (Galway) 5-0
69kg Luke Maguire (Esker) beat Cameron Barrett (Swords) 4-1
69kg Seamus Lyons (Monkstown D) beat Tadgh Duffy (St Michaels Dub) 5-0
69kg Jason Kyne (Celtic Eagles) beat Jack Brady (Crumlin) 5-0
69kg Patrick Cullen (Ballagh) beat Sean Hunt (St Michaels Dub) 4-1
69kg Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.) W/O
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) beat Peter Fabian (St Mary’s Dublin) 5-0
69kg Michael Kinsella (St Anthony’s/Pats) beat Tom Stokes (Oakleaf) 5-0

November 9


60kg Martin Noonan (Riverstown) beat Ben Teeling (Drogheda) 5-0
60kg Jordan Smith (Drogheda) beat Eoin Meaney (Leos) 5-0
60kg Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) beat Mosa Kambula (Holy Trinity) 4-1
64kg Alex Higgins (Togher) beat Kevin Loonam (St Carthages) 5-0
69kg Michael Kinsella (St Anthony’s/Pats) beat Senan Dwyer (Hyland Academy) 3-2
69kg Tom Stokes (Oakleaf) beat Jack Prenderville (St Saviours OBA) 5-0
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) beat Bob Hall (Crumlin) RSC3
75kg John McDonagh (Illies GG) beat Oran Shiels (Illies GG) 5-0
75kg Shane O’Brien (St Francis) beat Scott Kelly (Douglas) 5-0
81kg Edward O’Connor (Sacred Heart Dub) beat Jamie Harty (Rathkeale) RSC2
91kg Eamon Breen (Towland) beat James Leany (Rathkeale) 4-1
91kg Marcin Skalski (Leos) beat Cathal Browne (Illies GG) 5-0