Dean Clancy and Daina Moorehouse

The 2019 National Senior Championships conclude at the National Stadium tomorrow night.

Eighteen titles are on the line in the final weekend of action in Dublin.

Former European Junior and European champion Daina Moorehouse is in against Virginia BC (Cavan) light flyweight Emma Feeney in Friday’s curtain-raiser.

The 48kg showdown will be Moorehouse’s first appearance in a Senior decider and the Enniskerry BC stand out is planning to sign off on her outstanding underage career with another top of the podium finish.

“I’m looking forward to Friday night, the excitement is unreal. This is my first senior competition, said Moorehouse.

“The preparation has gone very well I’ve been flat out training the whole year. I think if I box how I know I can box I can come out with the win. I’ve seven Irish titles now, going for my eight.”

Feeney has four, including Colleges, Irish titles to her credit and believes that it will come down to who performs best.

“Feeling fit and ready. I’m looking forward to boxing a former European champion, it will be a good test and a good opening fight, she said.

“I’ve trained very hard for this and I hope to come out on top, but it’s all about who boxes the best and performs better on the night.”

Meanwhile, Brandon McCarthy, pictured below, has claimed a few Irish titles – rumour has it!

The St Michael’s Athy lightweight is in against Cookstown BC ace Theo Alin aiming for his 14th National crown on the bounce since winning Boy 1 gold.

Both young men have been in fine form, having progressed to the business end of the tournament on identical margins of victory – unanimous decisions and 4-1 splits.

McCarthy, a European medalist, admitted that the step up to Senior is demanding but he’s enjoying it.

“Preparations have been going to plan. All the work is done now so it’s just time to get in there and get the job done, he said.

“It’s going to be a tough final. The whole Championship was tough stepping up from Youth, but I’m very confident for tomorrow.”

Youth Olympian Dean Clancy faces Jamie Griffin for 56kg gold at the home of Irish boxing and Donegal’s Illies GG and Limerick’s Rathkeale BC will be targeting doubles, courtesy of  Caroline Gallagher and Matthew McCole and Jason Harty and Martin Mongans.

Rosie Doherty, Martin Sammon, Daniel O’Sullivan and Thomas Maughan stand in their way.

Friday’s weigh-ins will be held between 8am and 9am and 12pm and 1pm at the Stadium.

The IABA wishes all athletes the best of luck in their finals.

National Men’s and Women’s Senior Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday, November 8

Finals (6.30pm)

48kg Emma Feeney (Virginia) V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown D) V Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family D)
51kg Kirsten Cresham (Castlebar) V Kate Radomska (St Pauls W)
52kg Nathan Horrigan (Hyland Academy) V Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D)
54kg Zara Breslin (Tramore) V Siobhan McKenna (Holy Family GG)
57kg Kelsey Leonard (Curragh) V Kellie McLoughlan (Drimnagh)
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott) V Jamie Griffin (Riverstown)
60kg Isabella Hughes (Maynooth) V Renee Roach (DCU)
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels) V Teo Alin (Cookstown)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Jaide Gibbons (Crumlin)
64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) V Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald)
69kg Rosie Doherty (St Francis) V Caroline Gallagher (Illies GG)
69kg Martin Sammon (Olympic G) V Matthew McCole (Illies GG)
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) V Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan)
81kg Thomas Myers (Sligo City) V Sean Crowley (Arklow)
81+kg Naoise Finney (Ballybrack) W/O
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) V Thomas Maughan (Cavan)
91+kg Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi) V Ciaran O Griofa (Celtic Eagles)

November 1


48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) beat Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) 5-0
52kg Nathan Horrigan (Hyland Academy) beat Jason Smith (Fr Flanagans) 5-0
52kg Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D) beat John Cowman (St Paul’s W) 5-0
57kg Kelsey Leonard (Curragh) W/O
57kg Kellie McLoughlan (Drimnagh) W/O
56kg Jamie Griffin (Riverstown) W/O
60kg Renee Roach (DCU) W/O
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels) beat Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) 4-1
60kg Teo Alin (Cookstown) beat Jack McGivern (St Georges) 4-1
64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Michael O’Donnell (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) beat Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) 5-0
69kg Caroline Gallagher (Illies GG) beat Karolina Jaglowska (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
69kg Martin Sammon (Olympic G) beat Matthew McDonagh (Geesala) 5-0
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Sean Butler (Riverstown) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) beat Shane O’Brien (St Francis) 5-0
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Oran Shields (Illies GG) 4-1
81kg Thomas Myers (Sligo City) beat Folan Rahill (DCU) 4-1
81kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) beat Daniel Houlihan (Kilcullen) 5-0
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) beat Michel Rudolf (Crumlin) AB1
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Marcin Skalski (Athlone) 4-1
91+kg Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi) beat Patrick Lavery (Tredagh) 5-0
91+kg Ciaran O Griofa (Celtic Eagles) beat Patrick Rogers (St Johns Derry) 3-2

October 25


64kg Michael O’Donnell (Celtic Eagles) W/O
64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Derek Murray (Muskerry) 3-2
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) W/O
64kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) beat Gavin Bradshaw (Drimnagh) 3-2
69kg Martin Sammon (Olympic G) beat Senan Dwyer (Crumlin) 4-1
69kg Matthew McDonagh (Geesala) W/O
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Conor Reneghan (Keady) 5-0
69kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) beat Antoine Manin (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) W/O
75kg Shane O’Brien (St Francis) W/O
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Martin Sweeney (St Catherines) 4-1
75kg Oran Shields (Illies GG) beat Rokas Balrukoni (Clane) 3-2
81kg Thomas Myers (Sligo City) beat Adam Mooney (St Marys Daingean) 5-0
81kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) beat Philip Hickey (Paulstown) 5-0
81kg Daniel Houlihan (Kilcullen) beat Conor Tighe (Ballinacarrow) 5-0
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) beat Brian Mullen (St Annes) 4-1
91kg Michel Rudolf (Crumlin) W/O
91kg Marcin Skalski (Athlone) W/O
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Shane Cunningham (Fr Horgans) 4-1

October 19


64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Aaron O’Donohue (Fr Horgans) 5-0
64kg Derek Murray (Muskerry) beat Jordan Morrissey (Athlone) 5-0
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Ryan McCarthy (Togher) 5-0
64kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) W/O
64kg Gavin Bradshaw (Drimnagh) beat Daniel McCarthy (Crumlin) 4-1
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Christian Preston (Docklands) 5-0
69kg Conor Reneghan (Keady) beat Brandon Mulligan (Clann Naofa) 5-0
69kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) beat Jack Prenderville (St Saviours OBA) RSC3
69kg Antoine Manin (Celtic Eagles) beat Darren Shannen (Muskerry) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) beat Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys) 4-1
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Jack Brady (Crumlin) 5-0
75kg Shane O’Brien (St Francis) beat Jack Lawlor (Templemore) 3-2
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Shane Dooley (St Ibars/Josephs) 3-2
75kg Martin Sweeney (St Catherines) beat Owen Bergin (Portlaoise) 4-1
75kg Oran Shields (Illies GG) beat Adam Farrell (Fr Flanagans) 3-2
75kg Rokas Balrukoni (Clane) W/O
81kg Faolan Rahill (DCU) beat Jordan Donoghue (Drimnagh) 5-0
91kg Marcin Skalski (Athlone) beat Michael McConigley (Illies GG) 4-1
91kg Shane Cunningham (Fr Horgans) W/O
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Eamon Tighe (Ballinacarrow) 5-0


52kg Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D) W/O
52kg John Cowman (St Paul’s W) beat Ben Nelson (Townland) 5-0
57kg Jennifer Lehan (DCU) W/O
57kg Kellie McLoughlin (Drimnagh) beat Catherine Blaney (Navan) 5-0
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat John Paul Hale (Star) 5-0
60kg Teo Alin (Cookstown) beat Martin Noonan (Riverstown) 5-0
60kg Jack McGivern (St Georges) beat Andrei Alexander (Crumlin) 5-0