Holy Trinity BC coach Michael Hawkins believes that Friday’s Belfast derby between John O’Connell and Thomas McCann at the National U/18s could be one of the bouts of the weekend.

Both men meet at lightweight at the National Stadium for a place in the semi-finals.

Ten contests are slated for decision Friday. Ellie Mai-Gartland received a walkover and boxes Kaci Rock Saturday.

O’Connell, a Celtic Box Cup titlist, recorded two wins over Derry’s Eoghan Quinn and Dublin’s Culainn Sheedy last weekend and St Paul’s BC stand out McCann beat Joe O’Brien of Cork.

“It looks a great fight,” Hawkins told the Irish News. “We’ve been keeping John busy, but he’s a great trainer anyway. He works hard, he enjoys the game so much, and he lives the life.

“John and Eoghan have fought quite a few times through the years, and Eoghan Quinn was more than capable of beating everybody else in the tournament. It was just unfortunate they were drawn together in the first fight.”

Elsewhere, in the 60kg class on Friday, Cian Lewis, pictured above with Barry O’Connor, meets Adam Sinnot, Cahir Gormley faces Nathan O’Brien, and Aodhan Byrne is in against Cian Duggan.

The winners go through to the lightweight semi-finals on January 24.

Twenty-six bouts will be decided on Friday and Saturday at the Stadium.

Weigh-ins – 8 am to 9 am and 12 pm to 1 pm at the National Stadium.

National U/18 Men’s and Women’s Championships National Stadium Dublin

January 17

Q/Finals (6pm)

52kg Brooklyn Saunders (Docklands) V Sean Lawlor (Marble City)
W60kg Ellie Mai Gartland (Clonmel) W/O
60kg Aodhan Byrne (Kilcullen) V Cian Duggan (Cabra)
60kg Cain Lewis (Ballymun) V Adam Sinnott (Rathnew)
60kg Cahir Gormley (Illies GG) V Nathan O’Brien (Wexford CBS)
60kg John O’Connell (Holy Trinity) V Thomas McCann (St Pauls, Antrim)
91kg Peter Maughan (Ballyhaunis) V Kristians Keiriss (Rush)
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown Dublin) V John McDonagh (St Annes)
91+kg Christopher King (Celtic Eagles) V Thomas Leddy (Aglish)
91+kg Airimas Bauras (Athlone) V Patrick Myers (Sligo City)
91+kg Christian Halligan (Saviours Crystal) V Bernard McDonagh (St Annes)

January 18

S/Finals (5pm)

W48kg Aoife Williamson (Curragh) V Breda Quilligan (Rathkeale)
49kg Cian O’Toole (St Davids Naas) V Paddy McShane (Letterkenny)
49kg Dylan Eagleson (St Pauls Antrim) V John Joyce (Olympic Mullingar)
W51kg Chloe Gabriel (Mulhuddart) V Chanelle Robinson (Tipperary Town)
W51kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim) V Rachel Lawless (Portlaoise)
52kg Jake Rapple (Monkstown Dublin) V Joe Moorehouse (Gorey)
56kg Danny Morgan (St Conleths) V Jack Connors (St Davids Nass)
56kg Chad Magill (Glengormley) V Martin Brady-McCullough (Gleann)
W60kg Keisha Attewell (Tobar Pheadair) W/O
W60kg Kaci Rock (Enniskerry) V Ellie Mai-Gartland (Clonmel)
W64kg Leanne Murphy (Togher) V Erin Corrigan (Achill)
W64kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Corinthians) V Mary Enright (Setanta)
64kg James Uzell (Drimnagh) V Matthew Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
64kg James McDonagh (St Pauls Waterford) V David Nevin (Crumlin)
W69kg Dominika Gulli (Bracken) V Leah Gallen (Raphoe)

January 24

S/Finals (6.30pm)

60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
69kg Liam McMonagle (Raphoe) V James Whelan (Dublin Docklands)
69kg Emeka Onwuka (All Saints) V William Hayden (Crumlin)
75kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis) V Frank Duffin (Monkstown Antrim)
75kg Patrick Lawlor (Brian Dillons) V Tiernan Mayse (Two Castles)
81kg Jason Myers (Titans) V Daniel Treen (Dungarvan)
81kg Zach Ribbon (St Annes) V Elimane Samba (Four Kings)
91kg John Ward (Brosna) V James Redmond (Ballybrack)
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Nojus Ivanauskas (St Davids Naas) V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner

January 31

Finals (6.30pm)

W42kg Chloe Blake (Ardagh/Crossmolina W/O
W46kg Nicole Buckley (St Carthages ) W/O
46kg Bryce Collins (East Down) W/O
W48kg Codie Lafferty (Raphoe) V Winner
49kg Winner V Winner
W51kg Winner V Winner
52kg Winner V Winner
W54kg Niamh Fay (Swords) W/O
56kg Winner V Winner
W57kg Doireann Coogan (Marble City) W/O
W60kg  Keisha Attewell (Tobar Pheadair) V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
W64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
W69kg Shelby Myers (Crumlin) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
W75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
75kg Winner V Winner
W81kg Megan Potter (Gateway) V Bethany Doocey (Castlebar)
81kg Zack Ribbon (St Annes) V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner

Results so far

January 11 (5pm)

2nd Series Prelims

60kg Aodhan Byrne (Kilcullen) beat Christopher McCabe (Santry) 5-0
60kg Cian Duggan (Cabra) beat Joe Harkin (Oakleaf) 3-2
60kg Cain Lewis (Ballymun) beat Barry O’Connor (Ballyduff) 5-0
60kg Adam Sinnott (Rathnew) beat Oran Gethins (Sean McDermott) 4-1
60kg Cahir Gormley (Illies GG) W/O
60kg Nathan O’Brien (Wexford CBS) beat James Cullen (Ballagh) 5-0
60kg John O’Connell (Holy Trinity) beat Culainn Sheedy (St Marys Dublin) 5-0
60kg Thomas McCann (St Pauls Antrim) beat Joe O’Brien (Togher) 5-0


56kg Danny Morgan (St Conleths) beat Jason Butler (Ballinrobe) 5-0
56kg Jack Connors (St Davids Naas) beat Adam Kinsella (St Marys NR) 4-1
56kg Chad Magill (Glengormley) beat Leon Davis (Bracken) RSC2
56kg Martin Brady-McCullough (Gleann) beat Siffie Edris (Monkstown, Dublin) 4-1
69kg Liam McMonagle (Raphoe) beat Josh Cummins (Trinity Sports) 4-1
69kg James Whelan (Dublin Docklands) W/O
69kg Emeka Onwuka (All Saints) beat Peter Clarke (Errigal) 5-0
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin) beat Darragh Gilroy (Fr Flanagans) 3-2
75kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis) beat Edvinas Viaciakauskis (Curragh) RSC1
75kg Frank Duffin (Monkstown Antrim) beat Max Dushyk (St Pauls Waterford) 3-2
75kg Patrick Lawlor (Brian Dillons) beat Ben Farrelly (Crumlin) 5-0
75kg Tiernan Mayse (Two Castles) W/O

January 10

1st Series

60kg Culainn Sheedy (St Marys Dublin) W/O
60kg John O’Connell (Holy Trinity) beat Eoghan Quinn (St Johns Derry) 5-0
60kg Joe O’Brien (Togher) beat Daniel Clooney (Palmerstown) 5-0
60kg Thomas McCann (St Pauls Antrim) W/O


56kg Chad Magill (Glengormley) beat Bailey Marshall (Emerald, Antrim) 5-0
56kg Leon Davis (Bracken) beat Conor Healy (Phoenix) 3-2
56kg Suffie Edris (Monkstown Dublin) beat Jake McMahon (Liberty) 5-0
56kg Martin Brady-McCullough (Gleann) beat Daire Halfpenny (Gilford) 5-0
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin) beat Luka Gureshidze (Togher) 5-0
69kg Darragh Gilroy (Fr Flanagans) beat Taylor Guiney (Drimnagh) 3-2


52kg Sean Lawlor (Marble City) beat Oisin Mullholland (East Down) 3-2
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Dublin Docklands) beat Steve Cairns (Legacy) 4-1
64kg James McDonagh (St Pauls Waterford) beat Patrick Donovan (Olympic Galway) 3-2
64kg David Nevin (Crumlin) W/O