Schools boxers depart for camp in Poland.

The Team Ireland squad has departed for Poland to participate in a training camp. This camp also includes champions at weights not accepted into the European School Championships, and continues until August 12th:

32kgDanielle Smithers 

34kgKayla-Louise Harris

36kgEllen Joyce 

40kg Kayleigh Hodnett Loughlin

42kgCarley O’Herron 

44kgAleigha Murphy

46kg Ella Archbold 

48kgPaige Nickels

54kg Sophie Cullen Lawlor 

57kg Kaysie Cleere

60kg Isabelle Hawkins

64kg Cassie Henderson

70kg Ava Lannon

75kg Carly Norris

33kg Pat Stokes

35kg Taylor Parke

37kg Lee Largey Snoddon

40kg Rylee Finn

42kg Comhghall Guerrine

44kg Kalib Walshe

46kg Padraig Walsh

48kg Conan McSorley

50kg Jason Maher

52kg Kai Dynes Murphy

54kg Darren O’Toole

57kg James Rooney

60kg Kajus Dubonvoic

63kg Darragh Ryan

70kg Senan Kennedy

75kg John Ward

80kg Oisin Donoghue

90kg Jake Fitzgerald

Coach: Lynne McEnery

Coach: Garry Kehoe

Coach: Amanda Spencer

Coach: Saidhbh Greene

Thereafter, a team will travel to the European Schools Championship. The tournament is being hosted by the Slovenian Boxing Federation in Maribor, from August 15th to 26th. The draw takes place on August 16th, and boxing begins on August 17th.

Central Council took the independent decision to field a team at this tournament at its meeting in July Saturday, following a review of all federations contesting previous underage European Championships this year. This review included the ongoing European Junior Championships, where competitor nations include Ukraine, England, Scotland and Wales.

Central Council is mindful of the fact that Irish athletes cannot contest against Russian or Belarussian athletes boxing under their own flag, and wanted to ensure there was as low a probability as possible of an Irish boxer being drawn against such an opponent.

Team Ireland European School Championship Squad

36kg Louise Joyce (Olympic L)

40kg Kayleigh Hodnett(St Josephs L)

42kg Carley O’Herron (Rochfordbridge )

44kg Aleigha Murphy (Crumlin)

46kg Ella Archbold (Ballybrack)

48kg Paige Nickles (Banbridge)

51kg Ruth Dossen (Olympic Galway)

54kg Sophie Lawlor (Wexford CBS)

57kg Kaysie Joyce (Clonmel)

60kg Isabelle Hawkins (St Nicholas)

64kg Cassie Henderson (Phoenix Antrim)

70kg Ava Lannon (Dungarvan)

40kg Rylee Finn (St Nicholas )

42kg Comghnall Guerrine ( Sacred Heart  D)

44kg Kalib Walsh ( Wexford CBS )

46kg Padraig Walsh ( Immaculata )

48kg Conan McSorley ( Two Castles )

50kg Jason Donoghue ( Olympic L )

52kg Kai Dynes Murphy (Immaculata)

54kg Darren O’Toole ( Enniskerry )

57kg James Rooney ( Gleann )

63kg Darragh Ryan( Drimnagh )

66kg Peter McGee (St Conleths )

70kg Senan Kennedy ( Cabra )

75kg John Ward ( Monivea)

80kg Oisin Donoghue ( Athlone) 90kg Jake Fitzgerald ( Dungarvan)

Team Manager: Bernadette Lannon

Team Manager: Francis Keeling

Coach: Lynne McEnery

Coach: Aoife Hennigan

Coach: Paul Simpson

Coach: Garry Kehoe

R&J: Martin O’Neill