Kurt Walker bowed out of the World Elites at the quarter-final stage to Tsendbaater Erdenebat in Ekaterinburg, Russia.

A fiery battle between the current European champion and the 2018 Asian Games titlist ended on a unanimous decision to the Mongolian southpaw.

Scores – 30-27,30-27,30-27,29-28,29-28.

At his most effective when he closed down space, Erdenebat took the first but Walker responded strongly in the second and clearly staggered his opponent with a flashing right in the punch of the three-rounder.

The Antrim featherweight followed that up with several shots but Erdenebat kept his shape and continued to respond.

The third was equally as tight, with neither man dominating the final stanza of a full-blooded and up-tempo contest the result of which brings Ireland’s competitive interest in the 77-nation tournament to a close.

Today’s win guarantees Erdenebat, a quarter-finalist at Rio 2016, at least bronze.

The semi-finals and finals will be held on Friday and Saturday at the 20th edition of the World Men’s Elite Championships.



2019 World Elite Men’s Championships Ekaterinburg, Russia

September 18


57kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) lost to Tsendbaater Erdenebat (Mongolia) 0-5

September 17

Last 16

57kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) beat Robin Basran (Canada) 5-0

September 16

Last 32

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) lost to Pat McCormack (England) 2-3

Last 16

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) lost to Gleb Bakshi (Russia) 2-3

September 15

Last 32

57kg Kurt Walker beat David Avila (Columbia) 4-1
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) lost to Radoslav Panaleev (Bulgaria)1-4

September 14

Last 32

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Vytautas Balsys (Lithuania) 5-0

September 13

Last 64

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) beat Miroslav Kapuler-Cishchenko (Israel) 4-1

September 12

Last 64

52kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) lost to Aldoms Suquor (Indonesia) 2-3
63kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) lost to Matthew Alexander (Trinidad & Tobago) 2-3

September 10

Last 64

81kg Kane Tucker (Ireland) lost to Erkin Adylbek (Kyrgyzstan) 0-5
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) beat Austin Aokuso (Australia) 5-0

September 9

Last 64

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Andre Vreme (Moldova) 5-0

Irish squad

52kg: Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
57kg: Kurt Walker (Canal)
63kg: Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
69kg: Aidan Walsh (Monkstown)
75kg: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)
81kg: Kane Tucker (Emerald)
91kg: Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield)

High-Performance Director: Bernard Dunne

Head coach: Zaur Antia

Coaches: John Conlan and Eoin Pluck