Dean Walsh


Please scroll down for this weekend’s last-eight and last-four draws at the National Elite Championships at Dublin’s National Stadium.

Wexford’s defending welterweight champion Dean Walsh, who was presented with the Best Overall Boxer accolade at the recent IABA Awards, is in action versus former World and European Junior medallist Kieran Molloy on Friday evening.

Defending lightweight champion Pat Mongan meets George Bates in a repeat of the 2017 final, while 2017 finalist Thomas McCarthy faces Christian Cekiso who earned an impressive decision last Friday.

Brett McGinty will be quite literally aiming for glory versus Glory Carlos in the middleweight class and ex Elite champion Myles Casey goes head-to-head with Evan Metcalfe.

Former World Junior champion and Olympic youth finalist Ciara Ginty, the 2017 64kg champion, is in against Gillian Duffy in Saturday’s semi-finals on a card which also includes 2017 EU Elite and European gold and bronze medallists Michaela Walsh and Grainne Walsh.

Boxing begins at 7pm on Friday and 7.30pm Saturday in the penultimate weekend of the 1st edition of the 2018 National Elites.


Friday February 16th  – 8am to 9am and 12pm to 1pm at the National Stadium

Saturday February 17th – 8am to 9am 12pm to 1pm at the National Stadium


2018 National Elite Men’s and Women’s National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday February 16th (7pm)


69kg Connie Vaughan (Duhallow) V Ciara Sheedy (Ardnaree)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) V Peter Carr (Crumlin)
75kg Glory Carlos Imuala (Maynooth) V Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg John Maughan (St Marys Dublin) V Gerard French (Clonard Antrim)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) V David Biscevas (St Saviours OBA)
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Marys Daingean) V Robert Burke (Glasnevin)
81kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) V Davit Tsotsoria (Illies GG)
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)


57kg Dervla Duffy (Mulhuddart) V Ashley McCullough (Albert Foundry)
56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) V Evan Metcalfe (Hyland Academy)
56kg Thomas McCarthy (Setanta) V Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
60kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic) V George Bates (St Marys Dublin)
60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina) V Adam Kelly (Portlaoise)
64kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) V Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Clonard A) V Colm Quinn (Castlebar)
69kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) V Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) V Tony McGlynn (Crumlin)
91+kg Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dub) V Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

Saturday February 17th (7.30pm)


48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) V Shannon Sweeney (St Annes)
48kg Megan Doyle (Whitechurch) V Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D)
57kg Tiegan Russell (Fr Horgans) V Michaela Walsh (Mokstown A)
69kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) V Winner
69kg Gillian Duffy (Bray) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
75kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Karol Blugosz (Scorpion) V Winner
81kg Winner V Caomhin Hynes (Holy Trinity)
91kg Liam Greene (South Meath) V Winner
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Jason Barron (Holy Trinity)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) V John McDonnell (Crumlin)

U/18 Final

69kg Nadine Dermody (Raging Bull) V Elice Elliott (South Meath)

Novice Final

52kg Anita Larkin (Baldoyle) V Kinga Krzak (Celtic Eagles)

February 9th


56kg Evan Metcalfe (Hyland Academy) beat Adam Courtney (St Marys Dublin) 3-0
56kg Thomas McCarthy (Setanta) W/O
56kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) beat Tommy Casey (St Francis) 5-0
60kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic Galway) beat Dillon Duffy (Pegasus) 4-1
60kg George Bates (St Marys Dublin) beat Shane Flavin (Paulstown) 5-0
60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina) beat Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity) 5-0
60kg Adam Kelly (Portlaoise) W/O
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) beat Michael Hennessy (St Monicas) 5-0
69kg Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) beat David Barrett (Rylane) 4-1
64kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) beat Matthew McCole (Dungloe) 5-0
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) beat Geoffrey Kavanagh (Glasnevin) 4-1
91+kg John McDonnell (Crumlin) beat Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles) 4-1
91+kg Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dub) beat Konstantin Popovcuic (Crumlin) 4-1
91kg+Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) beat Thomas Carthy (Glasnevin) 5-0

February 24th


48kg Winner V Winner
49kg Ricky Nesbitt (Carrickmacross) V Conor Jordan (St Aidans)
51kg Ceire Smith (Virginia/DCU) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
52kg Conor Quinn (Clonard Antrim) W/O
54kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids E) V Amanda Loughlin (St Michaels Dub)
56kg Winner V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) V Kellie Harrington (St Marys Dublin)
64kg Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) W/O
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Aoife Burke (St Marys Dublin) V Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans)
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Lisa Browne (Aglish) V Nell Fox (Rathkeale)
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner