Michael Nevin, pictured above, will open Ireland’s campaign at the 2019 World Men’s Elite Championships in Ekaterinburg, Russia tomorrow.


The Portlaoise BC middleweight meets Moldova’s Andrei Vreme in the last 64 on Monday.

Current European Elite Champion Kurt Walker, the No. 6 seed on the Eurasian border, received a bye into the last 32 and awaits the winner of the Sam Kistohurry versus David Avila bout.

87 nations went into the hat for today’s draw at the 20th edition of the tournament.

Boxing begins at 11am (Irish time) tomorrow morning and Nevin versus Vreme is the 4th bout on the program.

Please scroll down for Irish draws.

Competition Schedule

(Local times apply. Ekaterinburg is four hours ahead of Ireland)

September 8 – Official draw (16:00-17:00)

Opening ceremony (18:00-19:45)

September 9/17 – Morning sessions (15:00 – 18:00)

Evening session (19:00 – 22:00)

September 18 – Quarter-finals (15:00 – 18:00 & 19:00 – 22:00

September 19 – Rest day

September 20 – Semi-finals (15:00 – 18:00) & 19:00 – 22:00

September 21 – Finals (15:00 – 19:00)



2019 World Elite Men’s Championships Ekaterinburg, Russia


September 9

Last 64

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) v Anderi Vreme (Moldova)

September 10

Last 64

81kg Kane Tucker (Ireland) v Erkin Adylbek (Kyrgyzstan)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) v Austin Aokuso (Australia)

September 12

Last 64

52kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) v Aldoms Suquor (Indonesia)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) v Matthew Alexander (Trinidad & Tobago)

September 13

Last 64

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) v Miroslav Kapuler (Israel)

September 15

Last 32

57kg Kurt Walker v Samuel Kostohurry (France) or David Avila (Columbia)


Irish squad

52kg: Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
57kg: Kurt Walker (Canal)
63kg: Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
69kg: Aidan Walsh (Monkstown)
75kg: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)
81kg: Kane Tucker (Emerald)
91kg: Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield)

High-Performnce Director: Bernard Dunne

Head coach: Zaur Antia

Coaches: John Conlan and Eoin Pluck