Budapest, capital of Hungary, will host the 2018 World Men’s and Women’s Youth Championships, the International Boxing Association (AIBA) has confirmed.

The tournament, which will act as a qualifier for the Olympic Youths in Buenos Aires, Argentina in October, runs from August 20 to 31.

244 men and 174 women are registered to compete.

Previous Irish gold medals winners at this level include “Sugar” Ray Moylette in Mexico in 2008 and Joe Ward in Azerbaijan in 2010.

Ward and Moylette, pictured above, combined to claim double European Elite gold in 2011.

Cork’s Christina Desmond reached the World Youth welter final in Bulgaria in 2013 and was unlucky to lose on a split decision.

Eamonn Loughran, Eamon Magee, Andy Lee, Ryan Burnett and Jamie Kavanagh also secured silver at this level.

On the previous occasion that the World Youths was hosted in Budapest, Coleman Barrett won bronze 18 years ago.

Ireland at World Men’s and Women’s Youth Championships


1987 Cuba
64kg Eamonn Loughran Silver
71kg Denis Galvin Bronze

1989 Puerto Rico
64kg Eamon Magee Silver

1992 Canada
64kg Neil Sinclair Bronze

2000 Hungary
91kg Colman Barrett Bronze

2002 Cuba
71kg Andy Lee Silver

2008 Mexico
60kg Ray Moylette Gold
64kg Jamie Kavanagh Silver
69kg David Joe Joyce Bronze
81kg Tommy McCarthy Bronze

2010 Azerbaijan
75kg Joe Ward Gold
48kg Ryan Burnett Silver

2011 Turkey
48kg Katie Rowland Bronze
57kg Michaela Walsh Bronze

2012 Armenia
52kg Kurt Walker Bronze

2013 Bulgaria
69kg Christina Desmond Silver

2015 China
54kg Natasha Logan Bronze

2016 Russia
64kg Gabriel Dossen Bronze
75kg Michael Nevin Bronze

2017 India
48kg Caitlin Fryers Bronze
64kg Katelyn Phelan Bronze