Ireland beat Italy at the National Stadium almost ten years ago on a night of top-class performances from the home side.

Two-time Irish Olympian John Joe Nevin, Tyrone McCullough, Eric Donovan, Ray Moylette, John Joe Joyce, Darren O’Neill and Con Sheehan had their hands raised in victory.

Big performances also from Gary Molloy, Jimmy Moore, Philip Sutcliffe, Disha Gezim and David Joyce, who was beaten by Olympic champion Roberto Cammarella.

Eric Donovan and Con Sheehan outpointed World champions Domenico Valentino and Clemente Russo on the night.

Click here for full results and results from Belfast.

Ireland v Italy

National Stadium Dublin, Ireland March 12,2010

51kg Vincenzo Picardi beat Gary Molloy 7:2
51kg Alex Ferramosca beat Jimmy Moore 13:7
54kg John Joe Nevin beat Vittorio Parrinello 11:3
57kg Tyrone McCullough beat Alessio di Savino 10:6
60kg Eric Donovan beat Domenico Valentino 11:8
64kg Raymond Moylett beat Vincenzo Mangiacapre 10:0
64kg Davide Cenciarelli beat Philip Sutcliffe 16:14
69kg John Joe Joyce beat Diego di Luisa 15:5
75kg Darren O’Neill beat Luca Podda 11:1
81kg Simone Fiori beat Disha Gezim 10:3
91kg Con Sheehan beat Clemente Russo 4:2
+91kg Roberto Cammarelle beat David Joyce 15:4