4 wins for Team Ireland on the opening day of the European Junior Championships.

Light bantam John Harty opened Ireland’s account at the 2022 European Junior Championships with a 5-0 win over Azerbaijan’s Ibrahim Zeynalov. He was the first of five Irish boxers in action on Day One.

The tournament, being contested by 353 boxers, is being hosted by the Italian Boxing Federation in Montelsilvano. The competitor nations are: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine.

Welterweight Tadhg O’Donnell took on Mahmoud Karnaba of Cyprus in Bout 11 of the same ring and session, and also came away with a 5-0 win.

In the opening day’s evening session, Bantam Anthony James Kelly boxed Scotland’s Nathan Lundie, and made it three unanimous decisions out of three for Team Ireland. In bout 7, middleweight, Dylan Dunlop contested against home boxer, Guiseppe Cirillo. The bout, which included a point deduction for the Irish boxer, went to the Italian figher, 3-0. At heavyweight, Adam Olaniyan boxed England’s John-Joe McCormack, and came away with a 5-0 win.

Several Team Ireland boxers have byes to the next round of the preliminaries, including 57kg Callum Carragher, 60kg Ryan Jenkins, 63kg Cillian Reilly, 70kg Charlie Valbergs, 50kg Grace Conway and 66kg Sarah Murphy.

75kg Mary McDonagh is already assured of at least a bronze medal – she begins her competition at the semi-final stage.

Watch Live:

The tournament is being live-streamed by the EUBC on its YouTube channel, here, and by IBA on its YouTube channel, here

Team Ireland Squad:

Male Boxers:

1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)

2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)

3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)

4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)

5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)

6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)

7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)

8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)

9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)

10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain

11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)

12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)

13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)

2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)

3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)

4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)

5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)

6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,

7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)

8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)

9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)

10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)

11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


1. Ralph McKay

2. Liam Cunningham

3. Paul O’Toole

4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed

Drawsheets are available here

Session 1 A results:

Session 2 B results:

Session 3 A results:

Session 4 B results:

Tournament Schedule:

September 27, 14:00 & 17:30 – Day 1 preliminaries

September 28, 14:00 & 17:30 – Day 2 preliminaries

September 29, 14:00 & 17:30 – Day 3 preliminaries

September 30, 14:00 & 17:30 – Day 4 preliminaries

October 1, 14:00 & 17:30 – Day 5 quarter finals

October 2, 14:00 & 17:30 – Day 6 semi finals

October 3 – Rest Day

October 4 – Day 8 Finals

October 5 – Departures

Competition Schedule by Weight