Amy Broadhurst shortlisted for RTE Sportsperson of the Year award.

2022 World, European and Commonwealth champion, Amy Broadhurst, has been nominated as RTE Sportsperson of the Year.

Amy was also named Best Boxer at any extraordinary Women’s European Championships, where Team Ireland was named No. 1 team, and she and her teammates brought home 3 gold, 2 silver and 2 bronze medals.

Amy is shortlisted alongside Rachel Blackmore (2021 winner, Horse Racing), David Clifford, (Men’s Football), Ronan Grimes (Paracycling), Ciara Mageean (Athletics), Katie McCabe (Soccer), Rhys McClenaghan (Gymnastics), Rory McIlroy (Golf), Katie Taylor (nominated as a Pro Boxer, but Katie is a Team Ireland Olympic champion and multi-World titlist), Josh Van Der Flier (Rugby)

Amy is the third 2022 Team Ireland nominee – 2022 light middleweight World Champion, Lisa O’Rourke, is nominated in the Young Sportsperson of the Year category, alongside Rhasidat Adeleke, James Culhane, Eve McMahon and Israel Olatunde.

While Head Coach, Zauri Antia, is nominated in a year in which Team Ireland have won 2 senior elite World titles, 2 Strandja golds, 16 multinations medals, 4 European gold, 2 European silver and 2 bronze, and, for the first time, the Women’s Team were named No. 1 in Europe.

This is Zauri’s second time to be nominated for the RTE Sport accolade – he is shortlised alongside Stephen Bradley (Soccer), Brian Dowling (Camogie), Dominic Casey (Rowing), Andy Farrell (Rugby), John Kiely (Hurling), Willie Mullins (Horse Racing), Eamonn Murray (Womens Football), Ronan O’Gara (Rugby), Jack O’Connor (Men’s Football) and Vera Pauw (Soccer)

Zauri is the only nominee representing a solely individual sport, or a combat sport.

The winners will be announced live on RTÉ One on Saturday night, 17 December, in an awards show presented by Jacqui Hurley, Evanne Ní Chuilinn and Ruby Walsh.