Lee McEvoy and Cole Byrne advanced at the European Schoolboy/Girl Championships in Tbilisi, Georgia today.

Click here for Day 2 program. Boxing begins at 11am and 2pm (Irish times) and not 12pm and 3pm as previously advised.

But battling Malo Davis bowed out at the preliminary round stage of the competition.

McEvoy showcased enough shot selection, footwork and evasive tactics to win 30-27 across the board against the game Antonio Hauer of the Czech Republic.

Byrne, pictured belo with his opponent, recorded an identical margin of victory over Dan Sablinski of Lithuania in the bantam class.

The Irish champion had to work hard against his fiery opponent but the majority of the cleaner shots were delivered by the Enniskerry BC stand out who is back between the ropes tomorrow.

Davis was the first Irish boxer in action on Day 1 but lost out after a tight tussle with Kiril Bazhenov on Ukraine.

Davis boxed well behind his jab in all three rounds and mixed it up with his taller opponent when required but the rangy Ukrainian teen got the verdict.

Seven Irish boxers are in action tomorrow.

Team Ireland participated in the colourful opening ceremony for the 17th edition of the tournament this afternoon with 29 other nations.

(Images courtesy of team managers Stephen Connolly and Jenn O’Sullivan and coach Paddy Gallagher).


2019 European Schoolboy/girls Championships Tbilisi, Georgia

August 4

Last 16

44.5kg Malo Davis (Ireland) lost to Kiril Bazhenov (Ukraine) 0-5
52kg Lee McEvoy (Ireland) beat Antonio Hauer (Czech Republic) 5-0

Last 32

54kg Cole Byrne (Ireland) beat Dan Sablinski (Lithuania) 5-0

August 5

Last 16

38.5kg Kai Griffin (Ireland) v Fjodor Kamanin (Spain)
40kg Roy Colgan (Ireland) v Ellul Cayden (Malta)
43kg Kyle Smith (Ireland) v Saoeha Yaroslav (Belarus)
48kg Padraig Stapleton (Ireland) v Georgios Pleas (Greece)
54kg Cole Byrne (Ireland) v Gasimili Mehman (Azerbaijan)
56kg Laurence Connors (Ireland) v Fuad Babayev (Azerbaijan)
72kg Ryan Collins Murphy (Ireland) v Oleksii Stepanov (Ukraine)

August 6


41,5kg Sean Tyndall (Ireland) v Matko Stojanovic (Croatia)
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Ireland) v Jocelyn Kilkenny (England)
44kg Esther Lambe (Ireland) v Miria Rossetti (Italy)
46kg Carleigh Irving (Ireland) v Pinar Ozkan (Turkey)
48kg Nora Jackman (Ireland) v Dragana Jovanovic (Serbia)
52kg Lee McEvoy (Ireland) v Demur Kajaia (Georgia)
54kg Niamh Keogh (Ireland ) v Izabel Devenyi (Hungary)
68kg Thomas Ward (Ireland) v Yahor Prudnikau (Belarus)
70kg Breanna Ryan Tobin (Ireland) v Tatia Bukia (Georgia)
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Ireland) v Avetik Hovakimyan (Armenia)
80kg Bernard Cawley (Ireland) v Yehor Harutyunyan (Ukraine)
90kg+ Danny O’Brien (Ireland) v Lovro Pavcec (Croatia)

August 7


46kg Blaine Fitzgerald (Ireland) v Arman Miskaryan (Armenia)
50kg James O’Reilly Thornhill (Ireland) v Hlib Hryhorian (Ukraine)
59kg Patrick Stokes (Ireland) v Danil Afanasyeu (Belarus)
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Ireland) v Kian Govan (Scotland)
76kg Caolan Devlin (Ireland) v Islam Huseynli (Azerbaijan)

August 9


36kg Carlagh Mullarney (Ireland) v Sophie Harker (England)
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (Ireland) v Tamar Samelia (Georgia)
40kg Shakira McCrudden (Ireland) v Laila Abdullatif (Cyprus)
51kg Georgia McGovern (Ireland) v Silvija Karavackaite (Lithuania)
57kg Alicia King (Ireland) v Italy or Turkey
60kg Gabrielle Mongan (Ireland) v England or Turkey
64kg Ava Rose Lyndon (Ireland) v Sudenaz Balioglu (Turkey)

Irish squad


38.5kg Kai Ducque Griffin (Drimnagh)
40kg Roy Farrelly Colgan (Avona) Captain
41.5kg Sean Tyndall (Dublin Docklands)
43kg Kyle Thomas Smith (Holy Trinity)
44.5kg Malo Davis (Monkstown Dublin)
46kg Blaine Fitzgerald (Corinthians)
48kg Padraig Flynn Stapleton (Monkstown Dublin)
50kg James O’Reilly Thornhill (Togher)
52kg Lee McEvoy (Avona)
54kg Cole Byrne (Enniskerry)
56kg Laurence Connors (St Mary’s Dublin)
59kg Patrick Stokes (St Johns Derry)
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Urlingford)
68kg Thomas Ward (Carrickmore) Vice Captain
72kg Ryan Collins Murphy (Neilstown)
76kg Caolan Devlin (Mark Heagney)
80kg Bernard Cawley (St Davids Naas)
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)
90kg+ Danny O’Brien (Shadows)


36kg Carlagh Mullarney (Ballyhaunis)
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (St Anthony’s Pats)
40kg Shakira McCrudden (Riverside)
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Kanturk)
44kg Esther Lambe (Setanta)
46kg Carleigh Irving (Illies Golden Gloves)
48kg Nora Jackman (Paulstown)
51kg Georgia Dunne McGovern (Drimnagh) Captain
54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic Mullingar)
57kg Alicia King (Ratoath Golden Gloves)
60kg Gabrielle Mongan (Whitechurch)
64kg Ava Rose Henry Lyndon (Glin) Vice Captain
70kg Breanna Ryan Tobin (Spartan)


IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke (St Michaels Athy)

Team Managers: Stephen Connolly (Curragh) & Jennifer O’Sullivan (Sliabh Luachra)

Coaches: Eve Carr (St Michaels Athy),Patrick Gallagher (Maynooth), James O’Neill (Clann Naofa),Martin Donovan (O.L.O.L.),Killian Walsh (Dungarvan), Paul Archbold (St Davids Naas)

Referee/Judge: Martin O’Neill (St Saviours OBA)